Cookbook reviews!

I have two new cookbooks to review!  The first one I'm going to review is called Gluten Free Everyday Cookbook by Robert M. Landolphi

Roberts' wife has celiac disease.  Robert is a chef.  Like any good chef, he started experimenting with gluten free recipes for his wife.  The result of that is this cookbook.  

It's a very simple cookbook.  I like that.  Sometimes cookbooks can be overwhelming.  He's got all the basics covered.  There is an introduction to ingredients and even brands of products to use.  It starts out with soups, entrees, side dishes and moves on to pies, cake, desserts and breads.  

I was trying to decide what to make first from this cookbook.  I didn't want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen.  Bryan (non-compliant gluti boy) was coming over for dinner and you know, you have to fill those boys up!  I already had my main dish figured out so I wanted a simple bread.  Parmesan Popover Bites caught my eye.  They looked easy.  They were easy!  

For me, if I get even just one recipe from a book that I will use over and over again, it's worth it to have bought that book.  This is one of those recipes that is already a family favorite.  We don't call them Parmesan Popover Bites.  We affectionately call them, those weird little things.  No offense Robert.  We mean that lovingly.  You see, they look a little weird.  Like they might not be good.  You eat one.  Then you eat another.  Then your addicted!  

At dinner, Bryan kept eating them.  Then after dinner he went out on a bike ride (like Lance) and came in starving again.  He looked at me and said, "Do you have any more of those weird little things?'  Next thing I know he's feeding them to a friend he was riding with and the friend wanted the recipe.  Then Kati's boyfriend came in way later in the evening and asked, "Do you have any of those things leftover?"  I had to laugh.  A whole day goes by.  Bryan comes in again looking around, "Do you have any of those weird little things left?"  I gave him everything that was left!  

They are Chebe like in nature.  Only better!  The recipe is very similar to Chebe using tapioca as the main flour and parmesan cheese, but somehow they are even better.  And, the recipe makes a boat load!  I used 6 of my mini-muffin pans.  They hold 12 each!  This will be perfect for company.  An instant classic.  I even made more of them for Sunday night dinner.  

Better yet, I think you could add stuff in them in different combinations, like sun dried tomato and basil or bacon and cheddar.  They would make great hordouves.   The flavor combos would be endless!  

DSC08013

Thank you Robert!  We have a new family favorite!  

The next cookbook I'm reviewing is Bake Deliciously! Gluten and Dairy Free Cookbook by Jean Duane.  Jean is also known as the Alternative Cook.  The recipes are mainly baked goods.  I am very interested in this book for a couple reasons.  One is the non-compliant gluti boy who is suppose to be dairy free/wheat free.  He might wise up one day and see the errors of his ways.  It's a bonus to make a yummy treat for him to eat that's wheat free and dairy free.  But, secondly, my mom was just diagnosed as casein intolerant.  She has already given up gluten.  

Jean also has recipes that use more whole grain flours and less refined things.  This has bothered me since starting a gluten free diet.  I always ate whole grain before.  Switching over to a gluten free diet was really different.  I love this book.  Jean does a really nice job laying out gluten free ingredients, how to convert a recipe, food substitutions, and general gluten free casein free baking tips. 

For most of her recipes she uses brown rice flour, sorghum and other gluten free whole grains. She also calls for organic sugar which is less processed and sucanat.  I didn't even know what the heck sucanat was!  Sucanat is pure dried cane juice.  It retains the natural molasses content so it's less refined.  Many of the recipes are vegan as well.  So if you are looking for vegan, gluten free and dairy free baking recipes, this is the book for you.  

Jean has a website and even sells cooking videos there.  So check it out!  

I had no trouble deciding which recipe I was going to make first out of this book!  Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars caught my eye.  I love peanut butter and it's even better with chocolate.  Bars are great for summer since you cook it in one pass as opposed to cookies in and out all afternoon!  

These are as yummy as they look. I know Bryan will love these!  Right now he's in Michigan riding his bike across the state!  It's the long way, so it will take about 4 days.  Crazy huh?  He already did that in Indiana.  The short way.  It only took a day.  

DSC08005

 Another favorite!  I've had a lucky week!  After last week, that's a good thing.  I was in a rut, which I'll explain in another post, another day.  I am anxious to try more recipes from this book.  I just feel better making treats that I know are healthier, but still taste really good!  I also like the fact the nutritional breakdown is included for each recipe as well.  Next I've got my eye on either the orange or lemon cupcakes!  Thanks Jean!  

3 Comments

Filed under Book review

3 responses to “Cookbook reviews!

  1. Kay

    I love the molasses bite of sucanat. Since I’m off real sugar, I’ve been using sucanat or honey in everything. Love it!
    The popovers sound good.

  2. Thanks for sharing ….I love your blog name.
    regards Laura

  3. I’ll be on the lookout for these! Thank you for the reviews.

Leave a Reply

