Roasted Chicken in a bowl dinner!

This is a super easy dinner!  Last week when I came home from California, I had a mountain of work waiting for me.  I had been gone 12 days, so of course there was no food left in the house.  The first thing I did was go to the grocery.  While shopping, I kept trying to think of something easy to pick up for dinner and I decided I would just roast a chicken.


What could be easier.  Just wash a chicken and whack it in a pan.  I like to rub it with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Sometimes I pour some wine over the chicken and or stuff some herbs like rosemary in between the skin and the breast.  If you like, you can add some veggies in the pan around the chicken.  Roast at 350 degrees for an hour to an hour and a half.  Chicken should reach an internal temperature of 180 degrees.  

What I like about roasting a chicken is, it takes very little time to get it prepped and in the oven.  Then I can go do other things while it's cooking.  On this particular night, I roasted the chicken without any vegetables.  I had some rice in the freezer which I took out to thaw when I put the chicken in the oven.  

When the chicken was done and out of the oven resting, in a large skillet I sauteed some zucchini, onions, pine nuts and raisins which cooked very quickly.  I don't like mushy zucchini!  With the addition of the thawed rice and some salt and pepper, I had a quick stir fry of sorts.  That was dinner!  

I served it in a bowl with sliced roast chicken on top of the rice and veggies and some of the broth from the chicken spooned over all.  

DSC07957

Depending on where you live, right now might not be a good time of year to fix this dish!  It's fairly cool here right now, but that's unusual.  You do have to heat your oven for a while.  I think this would be great for winter.  Even better yet would be to roast the vegetables right with the chicken and use with the rice. You can use any vegetables you like!  It could be different each time.  I love dishes like this because the combinations are endless and tailored to what you have on hand!  
Leave a comment

Filed under Chicken

Leave a Reply

