Fajita Corn Soup

Even in the summer, I still like to make soup!  Last Sunday, I grilled a flank steak and some fresh corn.  I still had some leftover and when I got in the fridge tonight, I though to myself, what the heck am I going to make with this?  

This is typical of my dinner prep.  Honestly, I do put together loose menus for the week, but I always end up changing it up.  But, these leftovers inspired my soup.  If you don't have leftover flank steak, regular steak would be great.  Or you can use cooked stew beef.  I also think it would be decent with ground beef, shrimp or chicken. If you have leftovers, this soup goes together very quickly! 

DSC06483  


Fajita Corn Soup (print recipe)
5 servings

olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1 green pepper, chopped
1 jalapeno pepper, chopped and seeds removed from half
2 cloves garlic, chopped
3 ears of cooked corn (or one can, drained)
1 or 2 cups cooked beef (leftover flank steak, stew beef)
1 can black beans, drained
2-14 oz. cans chopped tomatoes
1-6 oz. can tomato paste
4 or 5 cans water using tomato paste can
Juice from 1 lime
1 tablespoon fresh cilantro, chopped
1 teaspoon chipotle chile pepper
1 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons honey


1. In a large pot, saute the onion, both kinds of peppers, and garlic in olive oil until tender.

2.  Cut the corn off of the cobs and add to the pepper onion mixture.

3.  Add remaining ingredients and simmer till heated through.  Serve with corn chips, sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese.

Cooks notes:  My husband says there is too much corn in this soup.  I'm sure you can make it with less if you are not a corn lover.  I like corn!  When adding the jalapeno peppers, the heat comes from the seeds.  How hot it is depends on how many seeds.  If you don't like things too spicy, remove all the seeds from the pepper.  I find it just right leaving half the seeds in.  

On another note, I'm trying to both green up my kitchen and make healthier choices in kitchen storage.  I've gotten rid of my paper towel
holder.  I keep them stored in the cabinet to reduce usage.  I've put a basket out where the towel holder used to be and it's filled with cloth towels.  We've also gone to cloth napkins.  It's really been such and easy adjustment.  

I've been concerned for a while now about using so many plastics and things in my kitchen.  Last week, I moved all my plastic storage containers out of the kitchen.  We can use them elsewhere in the house for storage.  I replaced them with glass containers and storage dishes.  They make a lot of them now with plastic lids.  I like that because the food is not in contact with the plastic, but it's a handy way to keep them covered.  The greatest find of the week for me was a box of glass Ball Jars.  I bought the wide mouth type.  At our grocery store, you can buy plastic lids for them.  That way you can even freeze things in them as long as you leave enough room at the top.  I froze my cooked rice in them this week and to reheat it, all I had to do was take the plastic lid off and heat it in the microwave.  Love them!  

Here they are with my leftover soup.  

DSC06492
Finally, this little bug is growing.  

DSC06441

DSC06393
She really has been a good puppy.  I don't think that's going to last though.  We are moving into our terrible two stage.  How do I know this?  My tarragon is missing.  I have not founds it's lifeless body yet.  There is a hole in the earth where it used to live.  I also found a petunia body in the middle of the yard today.  And, I have a hosta with a trench dug all the way around it.  This all happened today.  Oh my.  

2 Comments

Filed under Soup

2 responses to “Fajita Corn Soup

  1. I’m inspired by your committment to go green. I could learn a thing or two from you – we have really tried to reduce the paper towel usage. I hadn’t thought about using all glass but now you’ve got my gears turning. Our dogs have had a great time with our tomato plants this year. We’re hoping to get at least one good one that hasn’t been terrorized. By the way – the soup looks incredible. 🙂

  2. I want a puppy! 🙂 They are so cute :D.
    This soup has summer all over it. Lovely color, sounds fresh and tasty.

Leave a Reply

