Broccoli, Chickpea, and Tomato Salad

I have a new favorite cookbook.  I love, love, love, this book!  The name of the book is Everyday Food From the Kitchens of Martha Stewart Living.  You may have seen a magazine by the same name.  It's divided into seasons which is a nice change.  All the recipes are my kind of cooking.  Everything is simple, quick, and easy!  


DSC05913

I found it walking through my local Meijers grocery store.  I started to not buy because I have so many cookbooks, but turned around and put it in my cart.  I'm so glad I did.  So many of the recipes are already gluten free or can easily be converted.  I have already made numerous recipes from it.  

Today I thought I would share one of my favorites from the book.  It's a salad that is so simple for summer.  This would be great for a cookout or picnic!

DSC05831

Broccoli, Chickpea, and Tomato Salad (print recipe)


From Everyday Food

1 pound broccoli
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons red-wine vinegar
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 small red onion, minced (I used a sweet onion)
1 pint cherry tomatoes
1 can (15 oz.) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
Coarse salt
fresh ground pepper

1. Cut the florets from the broccoli.  In a large pot fitted with a steamer basket, bring 1 inch of water to boil. Add the broccoli in a single layer.  Cover; steam until crisp-tender, about 5 minutes.  (I did not do this part, but simply added my broccoli raw. ) 

2.  In a large bowl, whisk together the mustard, vinegar, olive oil, and onion; season with salt and pepper.

3.  Add the tomatoes, chickpeas, and broccoli; toss to coat.  Serve chilled or at room temperature. 

Lastly, one my favorite flowers blooming in my yard.  Siberian Iris.  It blooms just for a short time in May!  Hope you are enjoying spring as much as I am.  
DSC05956

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookbooks, Salads

Leave a Reply

