7 random things…..

 I've been tagged by Wendy at Celiac's in the House to reveal 7 random facts about myself.  I did this some time ago here, but I thought it would be fun to do it again, only I had to come up with new facts!  If I remember right, I have to tag 7 other people as well.  


1. My favorite seasons are spring and summer.  I Hate winter.  Fall is beautiful, but while most people are happy for it's beauty, and I do enjoy that part, but I get a little depressed knowing what is to come.  I live for these early days of spring.  And, even in the very heat of summer, which here in Indiana it gets very humid, you will still find me sitting on my porch enjoying the outdoors.  


2. I love crafting.  Especially card making, stamping and scrap booking.  I have a whole room dedicated to it.  Sometimes on Sundays my mom and friends come over and we scrap together.  The week before last, I had 4 people, 4 dogs, and one baby (5 weeks old)  in my room together!  Of course the dogs were not scrapping.  There were just laying like beached whales everywhere.  And, I held the baby more than I worked!  


3. My favorite tv show is 24.  I own every season on DVD.  Don't ever call me on Monday nights between 9:00 and 10:00.  I won't talk to you.  I'll tell my husband to take a message.  My son comes over to watch it with me.  I think he has a man crush on Jack Bauer.  Gosh, I hope Jack Bauer is not killed off this year.  I'm a little worried right now, although the red head is a good female Jack Bauer.  Sorry is I lost some of you here 🙂  See, it's a problem with me.  


4.  I love to read.  I have a book addiction.  I can't go in a book store and come out empty handed.  Amazon is dangerous for me.  I have 3 fairly large bookshelves and they are almost all full.  Then there's the cupboard full of cookbooks.  I really need help.  Libraries are even worse for me.  Free books!  I can't leave without a pile!  


5. I also have a kitchen shop addiction.  You can ask my husband, when it comes to Christmas and presents, would I want jewelry or a kitchen appliance?  It would be a kitchen appliance.  They won't all fit in my kitchen.  I have to have a shelf in the basement to fit all my gadgits.  I don't have a lot of shoes, clothes or jewelry.  I don't ever really enjoy shopping for those things, but if you want to take me to a kitchen shop, I'm there! 


6.  I'm not very techie.  I don't tweat or twitter.  I barely do Facebook.  You're lucky you are reading this blog right now because I barely know how to do that!  


7.  I am a Christian.  I don't share that on here a lot, but it's a very important part of my life.  It sounds a little weird, but I don't go to church right now.  Well, not Sunday church.  We have been members of several churches since Steve and I married almost 25 years ago, but we just never seem to fit anywhere.  My best fit right now, is with a group of friends I meet with on Wednesday mornings.  I call it Wednesday church.  We always have a study going and a girls therapy session.  There are 8 of us.  Most of us home schooled our children together and all of our children have grown up.  Most of us are almost empty nesters.  We have been through a lot together and these women mean the world to me and are the best church I've ever gone to!  


So there you have it, seven more random facts about me!  I have picked some bloggers that I don't know as well so I can get to know them better, and some I have been following for a while.  


Gluten Free Kay– Kay lives not far from me in Indianapolis, and yet we've never met.  I love reading her blog.  She is always doing something interesting and grows a lot of stuff!  


Here's what let's do– This is Mikki's blog and she is funny, funny, funny!  She always makes me laugh.


Gluten Free Steve – I just love Steve and the Artist (who does beautiful watercolors by the way).  He is just a sweet guy!


Gluten Free Mom – Jamie is raising a celiac teen and I love her recipes.  Besides, she's got really cute kids!


Gluten Free A to Z– This a new blog I'm just getting familiar with.  A and Z write very helpful glu
ten free food reviews.


Hold the Gluten – Maureen is another blogger with a good sense of humor who also makes me laugh!


Delightfully Gluten Free – Cassandra is another mom of really cute kids.  She always has wonderful recipes and insights for living gluten free.
6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “7 random things…..

  1. Kay

    Thanks for the tag, Melanie! I’m looking forward to the return of Spring myself. Our early warm weather spoiled me. The basement greenhouse is overloaded with vegetable plants that need some real sunshine.
    I’ll think of some random facts soon!

  2. This is Z from “Gluten Free From A to Z”! Since our blog focuses on product, recipe, and restaurant reviews, I thought I would tell you seven things about myself here!
    1. A & I have known each other since I was 14 years old – we went to high school together. When we first met, A was in love with the captain of my water polo team and he followed her around the pool deck like a puppy dog! We had mutual friends through high school – we even went to prom in the same group! – but we hardly knew each other until we “re-met” in college and started dating. Now we’ve been together for more than six years.
    2. A & I have a black lab/border collie mix puppy. Well, I guess she’s not really a puppy anymore – she’s almost 2.5 years old! – but she’ll always feel like my puppy! She is so much fun and really brings a lot of joy to our lives. Her name is River.
    3. I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis last June. It has been a really big adjustment for me going from the fast pace life of a dual degree graduate student (working on a J.D. and a masters in environmental studies) to staying at home and trying to figure out how to live with the autoimmune condition that will be with me for the rest of my life. My gluten-free blog is part of that process for me! And I’m hoping to have things under control enough to return to school in the fall.
    4. Since I’ve had so much satisfaction from my gluten-free blog, I’ve been trying to help my friends who have their own projects! My cousin, KF makes and sells adorable crochet amigurumi (http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=6770241) My friend, KA, makes and sells beautiful handmade cards (http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=6423484). And my friend PN sells really pretty jewelry (http://www.stelladot.com/sites/paris). I hope you will visit their shops if you are looking for something special!
    5. This may reveal my true nerdiness, but I am terribly sad that Battlestar Galactica ended. Starbuck was my hero!
    6. Since I was a little girl, my favorite food has always been artichokes. Naturally gluten-free!!
    7. I am extremely grateful for the people who tell me that my blog has helped them deal with being gluten-free. I always need to have a project, and the gluten-free blog has been really good for me. It’s a total added bonus to be able to help other people too.
    This was fun! Thanks!

  3. We do need to get together and go to a bookstore and a cookware store. I do twitter and facebook,but find it painful and sort of like High School all over again with technology. Ouch. Thanks for playing along.
    Wendy

  4. Gluten Free Steve

    Well, thanks, Melanie, for calling me sweet! I appreciate that! So seven random things…..
    1) I won my 3rd grade class spelling bee with the word “dessert”. The classmate before me spelled it as “desert”.
    2) I’d drink limeaid over lemonade any day of the week.
    3) I’ve got a vast useless knowledge of 1980s and earlier TV trivia.
    4) I love Mexican food. It used to be Chinese – I could eat Chinese daily, but since going gluten free, it’s easier to eat gf mexican food. And besides, it’s so darn good!
    5) I will always have a special place in my heart for my first apartment here in Denver. It was a garden level apartment that I wasn’t even going to go look at it, but I put one foot in the door, and looked at the land lady and said, “I’ll take it.” She asked me, “Don’t you want to look around?” and I said, “Yes, but I’ll take it!” It was just so cozy, and so much storage, and so quaint….ah, I miss it!
    6) When I bought my first house, it was literally 2/10 a mile from said apartment.
    7) I’d love to live in Europe someday.

  5. Great 7 things list! It’s a 2-for-1 with A to Z’s list included. My name links back to mine if you feel like reading more lists 😉 I like reading these because it seems like everyone has something truly unique about them, but also something in common with me. I also have a book addiction, and I too am sad that Battlestar Gallactica is over.
    I’ll check out the other GF blogs mentioned and follow!

  6. I read #3 to Andy, and he said, “That sounds like you and Chuck.” Um, yeah, I put the kids to bed at 6:45 on Monday nights when Andy’s not home so that I can be ready to go when Chuck starts at 7:00. And the computer is off. (It’s basically the only non-PBS kids show I watch, lol.)

Leave a Reply

