Weekly Menu

This week, I'm back to planning weekly menus.  I have been really bad about not doing this and find I waste more time trying to figure out what to make than I actually do cooking!  It takes a little more pre-planning, but it's worth it.  I have even been planning lunch menus.  This saved me so much time last week!  

Over the weekend, I also did just a little extra cooking to save time through the week.  I cooked two chickens, pulled the meat off the bone and froze it in ziplock baggies.  I also made stock and froze it as well.  I made a huge batch of rice in my rice cooker and froze that.  Each night I needed rice I could just pull it out and defrost it.  This saves so much time and mess through the week!  

Here are this weeks menus….

Thursday 

Dinner- Chicken noodle soup

Friday

Lunch- eat out

Dinner- Left over chicken soup with salad

Saturday

Lunch- Lettuce salad with chicken fingers (Bell and Evans brand)

Dinner- Fish tacos

Sunday

Lunch- Brunch of pancakes, eggs and sausage

Dinner- Crock pot beef stew, French bread

Monday 

Lunch- Leftover stew

Dinner- Stuffed zucchini (hopefully will post recipe after)

Tuesday

Tuesday- Salmon, quinoa and veggie stir fry

Wednesday

Lunch- eat out

Dinner Fish Caesar, rice, veggies

Thursday

Lunch- rice with kale and garbanzo beans

Hopefully if you are stuck in your meal planning, this will give you some ideas.  I am always searching other blogs to get ideas for lunches and dinners.  The worst seems to be lunch.  I don't want to spend large amounts of time preparing it.  Since my husband is retired, we are both home at lunch.  If it was me, I would probably eat really weird stuff.  He wants a real meal.    

I've been getting him to eat more vegetarian meals and so far he's done really good with it.  I found a great recipe a couple weeks ago when I was visiting a blog I really like.  It's called Celiac's in the House, written by Wendy.  I really like her blog.  She is a homeschooling mom of two and I used to be a homeschooling mom of two.  She cares for two celiac teens and I care for one teen and young adult as well.  I like her cooking style.  Looking through her blog I found her recipe for spinach, feta, and garbanzos on basmati rice.   It looked really good, but because of my other food allergies, I had to modify it a bit.  You will find the recipe here.  It's number 6. on her weekly menu.  

I am allergic to spinach so the first change I made was to use beet greens.  I had some leftover from when I made a beet salad.  They were so pretty I didn't want to throw them away.  I had never had beet greens before, but the were really good.  I also didn't measure out the beans.  I used just one whole can.  And, just for fun, I cooked chopped up bacon in the pan until it was crispy and then added my beet greens and the rest.  I know, that disqualifies it from being vegetarian.  I couldn't help myself.  It's almost vegetarian!  It was only two pieces.  More of a flavoring šŸ™‚  And, instead of serving it over rice, I mixed it all together.  It's that dumping habit of mine.  

Unknown

I love these kinds of recipes.  So simple and so good.  This has become a staple at our house now.  It seems like I always have those ingredients on hand.  I have been trying different kinds of greens in it.  It's really hard to find just beet greens.  I don't cook beets very often.  Last week I used kale.  There are many varieties of it at our local grocery.  I'm having fun trying the different ones and seeing what I like.  I have really missed spinach.  Weird, I know.  You go most of your life trying to avoid something as a kids and then as an adult miss it!  If I only knew then what I know now!  

1 Comment

Filed under Menu Monday, Quick meals, Vegetarian

One response to “Weekly Menu

  1. That garbanzo and spinach stuff looks yummy. I’ll have to try your version. Thanks for the kind words and a new way to try one of our old favorites.
    Wendy;)

Leave a Reply

