Pizza Crust

As promised, I am going to share my favorite recipe for pizza crust.  Last fall, I received a new cookbook by Carol Fenster called 1,000 Gluten-Free Recipes.  It's a huge cookbook.  I have been having fun trying out some of her recipes.  I particularly love her pie crust recipe.  But, my hands down favorite is the pizza crust. 


When I first starting living gluten free, I used a lot of Chebe.  I love, love Chebe.  It makes a good crust, but it's not a tradition crust.  One night at about 10:00, Kati had been studying and got a horrible craving for pizza.  I decided we would try Carol's recipe.  Oh my.  I couldn't stop eating.  It was the first time since going gluten free that I had a pizza that to me, actually tasted like real pizza.  

I emailed Carol and asked her if I could share the recipe with my blog readers, and she said absolutely!  To make this recipe, you will need a mixture of Carol's blend.  I always keep this mixed up.  I use it as my all purpose flour mix.  The only difference is, I cannot eat potatoes so anytime the recipe calls for potato starch, I use cornstarch.  

Carol's Blend

1 1/2 cups sorghum flour
1 1/2 cups potato starch or cornstarch
1 cup tapioca flour

Mix well and store in tightly covered container.    

Pizza Crust (print recipe)
6 servings (12 inch crust)
From 1,000 Gluten-Free Recipes by Carol Fenster

1 Tablespoon active dry yeast
2 1/2 teaspoons sugar
2/3 cup warm milk or milk substitute
2/3 cup potato starch
1/2 cup Carol's sorghum blend
2 teaspoons xanthan gum
1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
1 teaspoon onion powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 teaspoons cider vinegar
shortening for greasing the pan
white rice flour for dusting

1. In a small bowl, dissolve yeast and sugar in warm milk.  Set aside to foam 5 minutes.  In a food processor, blend yeast mixture, potato starch, sorghum blend, zanthan gum, Italian seasoning, onion powder, salt, oil, and vinegar, until a ball forms.  Dough will be very soft.

2.  Generously grease a 12-inch nonstick (gray not black) pizza pan with shortening.  Do not use cooking spray.  Place dough on prepared pan.  Liberally dust dough with white rice flour; then press dough into pan with your hands, continuing to dust with flour as needed.  The smoother the dough, the smoother the baked crust will be.  Make edges thicker to contain toppings.  

3.  Pre-heat the oven to 425 degrees.  Pre-bake the crust on the bottom rack of your oven for about 10 minutes or until the crust begins to brown on the bottom.  Remove from the oven and top with your favorite toppings and cheese.  Place pizza back in the oven and bake until cheese browns to your liking.

Last weekend, our son Bryan came over and I was going to make this pizza.  He can't eat any dairy.  I had remembered reading somewhere on a blog, that someone put ground up cashews on a pizza instead of cheese.  So we tried it.  I ground the cashews in my food processor.  I
t kind of looks like Parmesan cheese.  And, it was pretty good.  It really kind of seemed like we had pizza with Parmesan cheese.  

Here is our pizza featuring Carol's crust and a cashew topping.

DSC05624


This week, as I was putting our weekly menus together, I was trying to come up with some healthy ideas for lunch.  I think it was a couple weeks ago someone on tv used polenta to make a pizza crust.  It sounded really good, but I was trying to think healthier and vegetarian.  I am making the hubster eat vegetarian for several meals this week (brewhahahah, evil laugh).  He's thrilled and excited! Not so much.  Oh well, he can't cook so there's nothing he can do about it.  

Anyway, my brain came up with quinoa.  How about a quinoa crust?  Last year I made one with zucchini, so why not use the same principal and use quinoa.  Quinoa is so good for you.  It's high in protein so it's a great food to use if you are cooking vegetarian.  And guess what, he liked it!  He said to make sure I kept this recipe.  

Quinoa pizza crust (print recipe)
Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees

DSC05632


1 cup cooked quinoa
1 egg
1/4 cup almond flour
1/8 cup Parmesan cheese
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon oregano
salt to taste

In a bowl, beat the egg well with a fork.  Add remaining ingredients.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.   Divide the mixture into two portions on the parchment paper.  Using a rubber spatula, smooth out the mixture until it's about 6 to 8 inches around and between and 1/8 to a /14 inch thick.  I like my crust thin, but you could make it thicker too.  Bake for 15 minutes then take the pizza out, add your favorite toppings and bake until the toppings are done.  Enjoy!  

I'm excited to share this….right now my back door is open and it's almost 70 degrees here!  Oh yeah! And, I have sandals on!  The dogs are running the fence line and barking at everyone!  

4 Comments

Filed under Pizza

4 responses to “Pizza Crust

  1. I just tried this crust, my second attempt at finding a good crust, and was thrilled. I own the book and have liked most of what I’ve tried so far. I made taco pizza and swapped out the Italian seasoning with Mexican seasoning.

  2. Stacey, Good to hear you had good results with it as well. I’ll have to try the taco pizza. That sounds really good!

  3. i’m going to try this quinoa crust this weekend Melanie!! thanks so much!! I’m REALLY looking forward to it with the crushed cashews! You are brilliant! (discovered a dairy allergy a few months ago!! so GF/CF/Sf now!)
    THanks for this! I can’t wait to try it!!

  4. you are SERIOUSLY a life saver melanie! I’ve just mixed up this crust and spread it on the pizza and I can already tell it’s gonna be awesome!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!! I’ll send you another note when i’ve baked it! wow… pizza for the first time in months. LITERALLY!!

Leave a Reply

