Dinner Party part 1

Welcome to my new blog site!  I hope you found me okay and have bookmarked the new location.  I have tried my best to get all of my old posts moved here.  It did not load all of my posts from WordPress well.  I have to fix almost all of them.  Five of the most recent posts lost their comments.   But, I think it's all here!   I have some new things added that I didn't have on my old blog, so look around!  I will also be adding some new things in the future, like a recipe index and some other things I'm thinking about.  I have no clue how to get a picture up in my banner, so that will be a challenge as well!  

We have some friends by the name of Tony and Carrie that we like to get together and eat with.  We have known them for a very long time.  Last year, Carrie was brave enough to have us over to their home for dinner. She went to great lengths to make the entire meal gluten free, which I very much appreciated. 

Last night was our turn.  I had so much fun planning the menu.  I wanted to make everything I saw and it took me forever to make up my mind.  We like to eat one course at a time and with each course try a different wine.  Tony and Carrie are really good at pairing wine with food.  Steve and I are clueless.  However, that did not stop us!  

For the appetizer, I knew I was going to need some french bread to make bruschetta.  I have been playing around with a baguette recipe from Jacqueline Mallorca's book, The Wheat-Free Cook.  She has some really great bread recipes in this book and most of them don't require yeast.  Most do require dairy.  I really like her baguette recipe just as it is.  It has a wonderful flavor and the next day it is still moist and does not need heating to eat.  We like it use it for making sub sandwiches.  

Because this recipe calls for yogurt, and our son Bryan is casein intolerant, I have been experimenting with converting her recipe to dairy free.  I am trying to find something I can make him that he can take out of the freezer in the morning and take to work with him and make a sandwich.  With my converted recipe, some things I like better, like the loaf was just a tad higher and it had a nice crispy crust.  It worked very well for making bruschetta and the taste and texture on the day it's made is really nice.  The drawback is, on the second day, the loaf is a little dry and has to be heated to eat.  

DSC05578


Rice Flour Baguettes (print recipe)
converted from Jacqueline Mallorca, The Wheat-Free Cook

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees

1/2 cup white rice flour
2/3 cup almond flour
1/2 cup tapioca flour
3/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 cup mayonnaise
soy milk
2 egg whites

1. In a bowl, mix all dry ingredients together.  

2. In a liquid measuring up, place the 1/4 cup of mayonnaise.  Fill with soy milk to the 1 cup line.  Mix that together well.  

3. In a separate bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form.  

4. Add the mayonnaise mixture and 1/3 of the eggs whites to the dry ingredients.  Mix well.  This will seem a little thick.  

5.  Add the remaining egg whites to the batter and patiently fold until they are all incorporated.  This will take some folding.  Be patient and gentle.  

6.  Using a greased french bread pan and  an ice cream scoop, scoop the dough onto the pan forming long, even loaves.  You can use a rubber spatula dipped in water to smooth the loaves and shape them.  
7.  Bake at 400 degrees for about 25 minutes.  


The problem of the loaf being dry the next day might be fixed by adding more liquid to it.  In the original recipe, it calls for more liquid.  But, you will need to lay parchment paper on your french bread pan if you do this.  I was trying to avoid that so I added less.  I like all those little bumps you get from the french bread pan!  

Since this was my first attempt at converting this, I will continue to experiment with this recipe.  Let me know if you try it and any changes you make that make it better.  I added the mayonnaise because I thought it would get a good flavor and richness to the dough.  I have not been able to find a plain dairy free yogurt or I would have tried that. 

This is a picture of the sliced bread on my indoor grill.  I brushed them with oil olive and simply grilled them on both sides.  They worked prefect for bruschetta! 

DSC05584
 

 
In the next day or two, I will post my menu and the recipes for our dinner.  Check back!  

 

 
1 Comment

Filed under Bread, Entertaining

One response to “Dinner Party part 1

  1. Yum! These look amazing. Check out my latest post for a free give away of a great book on gluten http://simplygluten-free.blogspot.com/2009/02/gluten-book-give-away.html

Leave a Reply

