Welcome January!

I hope you all have had a wonderful Christmas and New Years!  This year seemed especially special since we focused more on family and friends instead of gifts.  I'm glad January's here though.  For me, it's a good time for projects.  I usually have a winter list of things I want to get accomplished.  

I got derailed for a bit when right after News Years, I sort of went nuts stripping the wallpaper in my kitchen area and painting it blue.  Just days before, I had told my sister-in-law I was done with projects like that for a while.  I don't what happened.  I just woke up the day after New Years and had to have a blue kitchen.  And I do love it so much!  I was really sick of that wallpaper.  

With that out of the way, I am back to my original list.  One of the things I will be doing is moving this blog to Typepad.  I have another blog there and I would like both blogs in the same place.  It's taking me some time figuring out how to use Typepad so I'm not sure when the move will happen.  I will post when it's up and ready.  

What I'm not doing is starting the New Year with any special diet.  Over the last year, I've slowly dropped at least 10 pounds by just getting my thyroid normal and staying away from the foods on my allergy list.  That's enough to follow.  I have been feeling much better.  I have found that I can rotate the foods on my list and have them every now and then with no adverse effects.  That makes life much easier to deal with!  

Last week I had lunch out with my girlfriends.  It was a cold day.  We have a local tea room that serves salads, sandwiches and soups.  Being such a cold day, I really wanted soup.  The soup there, is not gluten free so I was stuck with a cold salad.  This seems to happen a lot.  I watched the girls eat this delicious looking cream of broccoli soup.  By the time I got home that night, I had to have soup but I didn't want to dirty a bunch of pans and make a mess.  I came up with this quick and easy recipe.  

Cream of Broccoli Soup (print recipe)

1 quart of chicken stock (Kitchen Basics is gluten free)

14 oz. package of frozen chopped broccoli

1 cup shredded cheese (I used cheddar)

3 T. sweet rice flour

1 can 12 oz. Carnation evaporated milk

Heat the stock in a heavy pan.  Add the frozen broccoli and cook until tender.  If you have stick/immersion blender, use it to puree this mixture.  Add the rice flour to the cheese and mix well.  Add the cheese mixture to the soup and stir constantly until the cheese is melted and the mixture starts to thicken.  Add the can of milk and cook until heated through.  If you have any lumps from the flour, you can whisk them out or use your stick blender to smooth them out.  

It you don't have a stick blender, you can use a regular blender or just have chunky broccoli soup.  You could also cut the broccoli into smaller pieces before cooking it.  If you would like to get one and are not sure what kind to buy, I found a post on Chow Hound where you can see what others like  here.  Aren't sure what an stick/immersion blender is?  Look here.  I use mine for so many things.  What I like is it's so easy to clean up.  I use it for salad dressings, soups, hummus, salsa etc.  

I didn't get a picture of my soup because the battery in my camera was dead!  It really hit the spot though.  I think we have many more cold days ahead so it looks like I might be making this a lot!  

Happy January!

Leave a comment

Filed under Soup

Leave a Reply

