Book Review

Last week, I was contacted by a representative from Da Capo Press.  They have a new book out called "The First Year: Celiac Disease and Living Gluten Free" by Jules E. Dowler Shepard.  They asked me if I would be interested in a copy for review.  This sounded like a really good book, so of course I said yes!   

I received it at the end of the week and have been looking it over throughout the weekend.  Gosh, I wish I had this book 2 years ago!  There is everything you need to know about your first year of living gluten free.  The author covers everything from your kitchen and cross contamination, to shopping, eating out, getting an invitation to someone's home, birthday parties for your children, holidays, you name it.  There are even recipes.  The way she does it is day by day, week by week and month by month until the whole year is covered.  I think it's a very cleaver way of doing it.   


If you have just been diagnosed or know someone who has, this is one of a couple books I would recommend because it is very user friendly.  There are so many challenges one comes across the first year.  So many ups and downs.  Just when I thought I had it all figured out, something new would come up.  Even after two years, that still happens.  I know this is a book that I will refer to even though I have already made it through the first two years!  I give it two thumbs up!  
Shepard_9780738212272.indd
1 Comment

Filed under Book review

One response to “Book Review

  1. Jeff

    Ms. Shepard’s contibutions to the celiac community aren’t only literary (she also published an acclaimed cookbook, “Nearly Normal Cooking for Gluten-Free Eating”) but she also has developed a patent-pending all-purpose gluten-free flour that makes the transition to eating gluten-free easier – really. Literally, you can use it in all your tried-and-true recipes…without compromising the taste.
    You owe it to yourself (or your celiac loved one) to try this flour!
    Check out NearlyNormalCooking.com!
    To your health,

Leave a Reply

