Tarragon

In the spring, I planted some herbs I've never grown before.  Tarragon was one of them.  I don't think I've eaten much tarragon at all.  I was really curious how fresh tarragon would taste and what I could do with it.  Being that my mountain of laundry is getting smaller, I decided tonight was the night to try it!
Here is the tarragon growing in my garden.

 And just picked.

Tarragon is commonly used in French cooking.  If you've had anything with a bearnaise sauce, then you've had tarragon.  I wasn't so sure I would like it.  It smells and tastes a little like licorice or anise.  I'm not a fan of licorice.
I had no clue what to use it in.  So I looked for a recipe on the internet.  I came upon McCormick's website with not only information on tarragon, but a recipe for shrimp salad.  I had all the ingredients on hand so I decided to try it.  You can find the recipe here.

This recipe had a sauce made with sour cream, mayonnaise, tarragon, lemon juice and Old Bay Seasoning.  I was skepitcal, but I have to tell you I really liked it.  Somehow the flavor of the tarragon, together with the lemon complimented each other.  The Old Bay gave it an added zing.  It was so easy to throw together too.  I just happened to have a bag of frozen cooked shrimp.  I usually have raw frozen because I like the flavor better when I cook it myself.  But having the already cooked, it took me minutes to make this dinner.  And on a warm summer evening, this light meal hit the spot.

Now I can't wait to try more things with it.  Please send me your favorite way to use this herb.  I would love to learn different ways to use it.

On to another product review.  I did really well shopping the other day as far as finding new things.  I love to try new gluten free things.  You never know when you will find something you really like.
Glutino has come out with new cracker flavors.  I was so surprised to see a cheddar flavor and a multi grain.

Well, too bad for me, I really like the cheddar.  This could be a problem.  It took me months to work my way out of a Chebe addiction.  Anyone who has read my blog in detail knows how I loved Cheez-it's.  These are not Cheez-it's and not even close.  But, for a gluten free cheese cracker, they are the best I've had so far and it's just been long enough that I totally forget what a real Cheez-it taste like anyway.  They are crispy and have a light cheddar flavor.  This is something I could sit and mindlessly pop in my mouth while watching tv.  Confession, I did that last night.  Let's hope the store constantly runs out of them.

I don't like the multi grain as well.  They are ok.  They have fennel seed in them.  There's that licorice flavor again.  It was good in the tarragon but in a cracker, not so much.  In all fairness, I tried it plain.  It might be better with some cheese on it to off set the fennel seed flavor.  Don't take my word on it.  Try some.  You might really like that flavor in a cracker! And I will try them with some cheese.  They might grow on me.
What I did like about both crackers is, it seems to me they have changed their formula a little.  The cracker shape was a little thinner and crisper.  There were not very many broken ones either.  For those of you who have not bought Glutino in the past, there are usually a lot of broken crackers in the box.  If you've tried them, let me know how you liked them!

15 Comments

Filed under Herbs, Product review, Salads

15 responses to “Tarragon

  1. Glutigirl

    Bay, Eggs? I’m trying that! Those leeks look fabulous!

  2. Cassandra

    Have you ever tried the cheese crackers from Out of the Breadbox (in Denver, I think)? They taste a lot like Cheeze-its.

  3. I love tarragon! I love to just mince it up and add it to scrambled eggs. But here’s my all-time favorite tarragon recipe:
    Fried Leeks with Tarragon Vinegar
    http://glutenfreebay.blogspot.com/2007/04/fried-leeks-with-tarragon-vinegar.html

  4. Glutigirl

    Ginger, do I keep that in the refrigerator?
    Cassandra, Seriously, I don’t think I should try anything the resembles a real cheez-it. I have no will power there. I used to only buy them on special occasions because I knew I would eat the whole box! OH, and those pretzel things with the cheese inside. Combo’s. I used to only buy them when we were flying somewhere. It was my flying treat. I figured if the plane when down I wanted to be eating something that was not good for me!
    However, I will file this information away for the future just in case I feel the need for a Cheez-it!

  5. Please put some tarragon in an envelope and mail it to me. I can’t get any here.
    Seriously, I love tarragon vinegar — put washed sprigs in a bottle, then pour boiling apple cider vinegar over it. Let it sit for a couple weeks. Delish in a salad.

  6. Glutigirl

    Kay, That is some useful information. I will look at the tag and see if it tells me. I think I got it at Lowe’s.
    The snapper recipe sounds really good. You must share the recipe! Anything with cream cheese and mayo has to be good.

  7. Thanks for stopping by again to see how I am. I have fallen off the wagon once or twice!
    Bad idea 😦 I have just really been miserable with having to adapt to this new way of eating. I have no desire to cook or anything. I hope things will get easier again for me. I hope to get back on with the blog soon.

  8. Kay

    Hi Melanie,
    That looks like Mexican tarragon, which I much prefer to French. It’s stronger and the leaves have more body. The downside is it’s an annual, not a perennial. I’ve tried to start my own from seed, but germination is poor.
    My favorite use for tarragon is deviled snapper. It has a cream cheese/mayo/tarragon/onion layer spread over each fillet. That is topped with buttered bread crumbs with parsley and parmesan then baked.
    When I used to take fishing vacations in Key West, I would make this casserole-style and use up all my smallest snapper. It works with just about any white fish. I haven’t tried to un-glutinize this recipe yet, but I think it it might work just as well with gluten free bread crumbs. The creamy layer included some onion soup mix, so I’ll have to work on that.

  9. Glutigirl

    Awww, Sondra, Hang in there. I hope you are at least starting to feel better. It does get better!

  10. I put the vinegar in a cool, dark place to steep, then I strain it. You can keep it in the fridge after that.
    Steeping the tarragon in the boiled vinegar has always (in my experience) killed all bacteria. But yes, it can be kept cold.

  11. I just found these crackers this morning. Thank you for your product posts! 🙂
    (And I LOVE Ginger’s idea…. I have to try that!)

  12. I love tarragon! I’m envious you have fresh tarragon. One of my favorite ways to use it is in chicken pot pie or turkey pot pie. Yum.

  13. Glutigirl

    Allie, That was the problem I had! I wanted to eat the whole box! With the Chebe, after you bake it and it’s cooled, put it in a ziplock and let it sit over night. I will soften up quite a bit.

  14. I just found those crackers and I thought they were great!! The only problem — I ate the entire box in one sitting! I love cheese-anything… I just found a new Chebe oven-ready sandwich dough… made it last night, it was really good! A bit hard, but I think I over-cooked…

  15. Jamie

    I have to agree that I did not like the multi-grain crackers at all. I could not try the Cheese ones, but the Gluten Free Teen liked them okay. Here favorite are from Out of the Breadbox. She loves them!

Leave a Reply

