Crazy week, crazy weather

I'm sure you all have heard about the flooding in Indiana.  Our neighborhood was very close to a lot of it.  The back part of the neighborhood we live in was flooded shut and the fire department was making rescues in a boat all day long.   

Our home is okay except for the fact our sump pump had a heart attack at trying to keep up and left us for sump pump heaven.  By the time we found out, the basement had already flooded a couple inches.   I had some new recipes I was planning on posting Saturday night but instead we spent the weekend dragging wet carpet out of the basement and cutting away wet dry wall.  It's a mess, but we are very fortunate.  Many people here have lost their homes.  My heart breaks for them. The insurance company sent out a couple guys with dryers and de-humidifiers.  It's drying up down there.  Hopefully it won't take too long to put it back together.  

 The day of the flood, Kati was preparing to go to kids camp.  Not as a kid, but as an adult counselor.  She has been so excited about this.  And then we realized, what is she going to eat?  I'm sure there are many of you out there is this situation right now.  Thankfully, Kati is old enough to watch out for herself.  I can't imagine having an eight year old who needs to go to camp and worrying about them.  
I set off for the grocery last week with one goal in mind.  Find all the shelf stable, gluten-free food I could find.  This is what I came up with…. 

Peanut butter 
Single serving cans of :

  • tuna
  • chicken
  • salmon

Canned refried beans 

Eden brand canned beans and rice 
Amy's bean soup 
Thai kitchen noodles (and chop sticks)
Fruit cups 
Pudding 
Glutino crackers 
corn chips 
candy (this is most important!) 
Powdered Miso soup 

I think there was more she took.  I was going to make a list to post everything she took, but the flood happened.  I also got her a loaf of Glutino frozen bread and some bagels.  Hopefully she remembered to put them in the freezer when she got there.  I also made a batch of blueberry muffins for her to freeze.  I also sent her own mayonnaise with her name on it to keep in the fridge.  She was very happy and excited to have her boxes of food when she left.   

After my last post, I have so many good ideas of what to take on our weekend trip.  The hard part is deciding what ones I will try!  I can't wait to see what works good and post about it when we get back. Thanks everyone for so many great ideas.   We will be in Danville, Kentucky at the Great American Brass Band Festival.  Hopefully, the weather will be good.  I don't like traveling in storms and heaven knows Indiana doesn't need any more rain!   
 
6 Comments

Filed under Traveling

6 responses to “Crazy week, crazy weather

  1. Cassandra

    Oh, my goodness. I’m so glad y’all are okay. A few inches in the basement sounds like a bargain to me. 🙂
    I hope Kati has a great time at camp.

  2. All that flooding is heart breaking! I’m glad you’re all okay. After our basement flooded years ago my father created a basement flood alarm, which has been tested a few times. Although they are in south east Michigan and haven’t had it too bad this season (knock wood). Best of luck to Kati, being a counselor is great fun!

  3. Kristina

    Do you or Kati like Indian food? If so, the brand Kitchens of India has a number of GF products. Not marked, but I e-mailed them and they got back to me right away with a list of their GF products. It’s all vegetarian, really delicious- I take them on car trips so I don’t have to worry about eating GF fast food (now there’s an oxymoron). They’re shelf-stable, so you don’t have to refrigerate, and you can always eat them without even heating them up, if you’re eating at a rest stop on the side of the highway! Let me know if you’d like the list, and I’ll forward it to you.
    I hope Kati has a good time at camp- I did the whole GF camp counselor thing, too. Sounds like you and she are WAY better prepared than my mom and I ever were!

  4. I have been thinking about you the last couple of days when I saw Indiana was in the flood — I was going to email today. I’m glad you’re safe and not too wet. We’ve had some horrible stuff here, but not like that. Take care of all of you!

  5. I’m so glad you and your family are okay! I hope your basement is back to normal soon and that your neighbors are recovering alright.
    Thanks for posting what Kati is taking to camp; I’m always at a loss as to what to take with me on trips for food and this is a great list to start with. 🙂

  6. Kay

    Hi Melanie,
    My dehumidifier has been running non-stop for . . . well, two months. I’ve tied down my deck furniture (again) for our third Friday in a row of weather warnings.
    Hope Katie has a great time at camp!

Leave a Reply

