Potato Salad and Beans

I think I'm ready for my Mother's Day company.  I spent most of today in the kitchen trying to get as much of it done ahead of time.  Both of these dishes are recipes my family have used for a long time.  The bean recipe is my sister-in-laws.  Her name is Sue.  She did not make this recipe up herself.   It was given to her by somebody and I don't know the original name of it.  I call it Sue's beans. These are the best beans I've ever had.  If you make them, make sure you have copied the recipe off to share because people will ask for it!  Even people who don't normally like beans.

 The potato salad recipe came from my mom.  She has been making this recipe for as long as I can remember.  We used to have it on Christmas eve with cold ham sandwiches.  It has always been one of my favorites.  This is a great recipe to take on picnics since there is no mayonnaise in it.  The dressing has olive oil in it so I think it won't spoil as quickly as mayonnaise would in the heat, but you still need to be careful.  Also, this salad gets even better the next day.  It's a great salad to make the day before and let the flavors meld together. 

Sue's Beans

(They have not been baked yet in this picture.  They do thicken up when they bake.)

 3/4 cup brown sugar 
1/3 cup vinegar
 2 teaspoons dry mustard 
1 lb. raw bacon, chopped ( I used Hormel already cooked bacon in mine) 
4 onions, diced 

Combine the above ingredients in a heavy saucepan and simmer on medium heat for about 20 minutes.  (I do not cover mine while they are simmering.)
Mix in one can (small can) each of the following drained beans:
Lima
Kidney
Butter
Pork and Beans (I used Bushes plain Pork and Beans)
Pour into a baking dish and bake at 350 degrees for about 1 hour.  Be ready to give out the recipe! 

Cesar Potato Salad

5 pounds red potatoes 
1/2 cup salad oil (I use a good quality olive oil) 
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese 
1/2 cup lemon juice 
1 teaspoon salt 
1 Tablespoon Worcestershire sauce 
1/4 teaspoon pepper
8 slices bacon, cooked and chopped 
1 medium onion or 4 large scallions, 
chopped
Parsley
 chopped
Slice green olives, about 3/4 cup or to taste
 Six boiled eggs, sliced 

Place potatoes (do not peel them!) in a large heavy pan, and cover with water.  Bring to a boil and simmer till until done.  This takes a while so I always start them and let them cook while I am doing something else in the kitchen (like start the boiled eggs).  After they are fork tender, drain and place them in the refrigerator till completely cold.
After the potatoes have cooled completely, peel and chop them.  The peeling comes off very easy at this point.  Just use the edge of a knife to slide the skins off.  

Place the chopped potatoes in a fairly large bowl.  Add the slice olives, onions, bacon and 3 of the eggs.
In a separate bowl mix the oil, cheese, lemon, salt and pepper, parsley, and Worcestershire sauce together.  Pour over the potato mixture and mix well.  Place the last 3 sliced eggs around the top of the potato salad for decoration. Enjoy!
Hope you all have a wonderful Mother's Day!
6 Comments

Filed under Vegetable/side dishes

6 responses to “Potato Salad and Beans

  1. Both of those recipes look so good. I’m going to have to put them on the menu soon =)

  2. Thanks, they are my favorite!

  3. what a fantastic recipe for potato salad! I’m sort of addicted to potato salad.

  4. Mmmm I would be all over that potato salad if I could eat eggs!

  5. Kay

    Hi Melanie,
    I made your potato salad, and added a little baby spinach. It was great to have something in the fridge to snack on! I had to leave out the worchestershire sauce, so I used more bacon. Yum!

Leave a Reply

