Croutons!

I feel like it's been so long since I've blogged!  So much to catch up on.  Saturday, I made a loaf of Gluten Free Pantry's French bread.  It's pretty good if you are craving white bread.  I never ate white bread much except when I was craving a peanut butter sandwich.  Let me tell you, I cut the end off while it was still hot and slathered it with peanut butter.  Wow.  Yummy. 

Sunday I worked in the yard all day getting the rest of the garden in and filling pots with flowers for the patio and deck.  When I went in the kitchen after being outside all day, I saw I had half a loaf of French bread left.  All of a sudden, I got a terrible craving for croutons.  I hadn't had any since January 2007.  It was so easy and quick that I have no idea why I haven't made them before!  I didn't have a recipe.  Just made it up on the spot.  Here is what I did: 

Croutons 

4 -1/2 inch slices of gluten free bread (Gluten Free Pantry French), cut into 1/2 inch cubes 
5 Tablespoons melted butter 
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder 
1/2 teaspoon onion powder 
1 Tablespoon fresh parsley 

Mix butter, garlic and onion powder, and fresh parsley in a large bowl.  Add bread cubes and toss until they are all coated.  Spread on a parchment paper lined baking tray in one layer.  Bake at 450 until golden brown.  I forgot to time how long that took!  Sorry.  I think it was at least 15 minutes.
 

The kids were pretty excited because it had been so long since we had had any croutons in the house.  They didn't last long.  We all had salad and I have to confess I munched on what was left with a glass of wine just before bed that night! 

Here is the rest of the garden planted.  I have four tomato plants.  I have a  roma, big boy, celebrity and a sweet 100 cherry tomato.  I also put out some cucumbers, 3 green pepper, 1 red pepper and 1 jalapeno pepper plant.  I can't wait to have fresh tomatoes. 
 
Hmmm….
 
 
The weekend before last I was busy with this little girl….. 

This is Cici.  She is our drummers new puppy.  We got to babysit her all weekend.  What a sweetheart.  I wish she wasn't moving all the way to Florida, but she is.  She had a good time playing with our girls and visiting with us.  It was hard to give her back! 

I've not kept up with having a weekly menu and I don't think I will for a while.  Too much is going on.  This weekend I am having my family for Mother's Day.  I sort of have the menu together and I am planning on posting about it.  Instead of trying to keep up with the weekly menu I am just going to post about what I am doing and when I make something I like, I will share it. 

Today in Indiana is the big primary.  On the news we are either hearing about that or what's going on at the track.  You know, it's 500 time here in Indiana.  The track is open.
It's been a beautiful day but it's going to cool off again for the weekend.  I had to grill tonight.  We had a really simple meal that took only minutes to prepare.  I thawed out some talapia earlier in the day.  So when dinner came I made spinach salads.  I grilled some fresh veggies with the talapia. 

For my salad, I just had spinach with some slivered almonds and chopped apples on top.  I made a very simple dressing.  I have a thing from Pampered chef I make my dressing in and I use a stick blender to mix mine up. 

Lemon vinegrette 

2 oz. canola oil 
1 oz. honey 
1 oz. lemon juice
Tablespoon fresh, chopped cilantro 

Mix well and serve over salad.
 

I have a couple grill pans for the grill.  They are flat with small holes in them so you still get grill marks, but small food doesn't fall through.  I spray them with cooking spray to keep the food from sticking.
For the veggies, I had some snow peas and sliced carrots.  I just drizzled them with olive oil, coarse sea salt, salt and pepper.  So simple. 

I wasn't sure what to do with the fish tonight.  I don't usually grill talapia because it is so delicate.  But I sprayed the grill pan well.  I laid the fish out and drizzled them with olive oil, lemon juice, coarse sea salt, pepper and a good sprinkling of Parmesan cheese.  I pre-heat the grill to about 600 degrees and then turned it all the way down to the lowest setting when I put the fish and veggies on .  I did not turn the fish at all.  I left it undisturbed on the grill pan until it was done (about 5-10 minutes).  The veggies were turned several times during the the cooking.  Just keep a close eye on both fish and veggies on the grill as they only take minutes to cook. 
 

So simple.  So good.  I think sometimes the best meals are foods cooked simple without a lot of ingredients.
I hope to have my Mother's Day menu all figured out and posted by the end of the week.  So stay tuned!  Now I have to go watch American Idol.  It's getting good!
9 Comments

Filed under Fish, Grilling Out, Salads, Vegetable/side dishes

9 responses to “Croutons!

  1. glutenfreesteve

    Your croutons look great! It’s been really nice weather here too, so that’s had me in the grilling mode also! I made grilled mahi mahi with asparagus tonight. I used the same kind of rack for grilling my fish and veggies. Tasty! I’ve never used the Gluten Free Pantry mix – I’ll have to try that sometime. And fresh veggies from the garden – I can’t wait either. We (well, the Artist) planted cukes, pumpkins, lettuce, spaghetti squash, butternut squash, radishes, herbs, yellow squash and we tried a canteloupe, too! We’ll see how (and if!) it comes out.

  2. Glutigirl

    I love mahi mahi too! I just love fish. I like to cook it. You will have to give a year end report on your garden. I have never grown spaghetti squash and wonder how it will turn out!

  3. Kay

    Hi Melanie,
    Your garden looks great! I love the anticipation of meals to come.
    I grew spaghetti squash a few years ago. I had A TON of them! I ate as many as I could, but there were still lots left. My brother liked to use them for target practice at the shooting range at Camp Atterbury, because he didn’t have to clean them up. The remains were all eaten up by the next morning. Ha!
    I was dreaming of zucchini lasagna the other day, to satisfy my pasta craving. But now I’m dreaming of spaghetti squash smothered in marinara. Yum. Can’t wait!
    Your fish looks great! I’ve used the little foil packets on the grill for delicate fish. I just pile on fresh herbs and butter and lemon slices. I especially like tarragon with fish. Works great.

  4. Yum, yum, yum! Those croutons look perfect. I’m so jealous of your garden; I have no yard, so a container herb garden gets me my gardening fix.
    Cici is too adorable; I bet she had a great weekend with your pups!

  5. i just love your simple cooking style melanie! Often I overdo it, and I sit back and think, this would have been so much better if I had just stuck with the original ingredients!! Great post! I’m glad you to hear you are doing well! Your garden looks great!

  6. Cassandra

    Zucchini – I definitely have to plant that in the new garden plot.
    I’m glad you’re feeling better!

  7. I just have to comment again. I want some croutons!! I could eat them like potato chips!

  8. I hope you have a great Mother’s Day! And those croutons…they look yummy.

  9. Glutigirl

    Thank you everyone! And Carrie, my son used to eat croutons like potato chips. I used to go to Sam’s Club and buy them in the big bag. He loved them and I think misses them, although he could still go get them and eat them. He was so happy when he saw I had made them!

Leave a Reply

