Buffalo Chicken Soup

This post is for Gluten Free Steve. He thought this sounded good and it is fantastic! I don't have any pictures yet, nor have I made it this week but did make it a month or so ago. I got it from Better Homes and Gardens magazine.
The husband Steve is keeping me busy.  I keep finding him using his arm and he's not supposed to!  Bad boy. Enjoy the recipe….. 

Buffalo Chicken Soup 
6 servings 
Prep: 30 minutes 
Cook: 15 minutes 
Ingredients 

1  2-1/4 to 2-1/2 lb. deli-roasted chicken, skinned, boned, and coarsely shredded 
2  Tbsp. butter 
1/2  cup coarsely chopped celery 
1/2  cup chopped onion 
2  14-oz. cans reduced-sodium chicken broth 
1-1/2  cups milk 
1  tsp. bottled hot pepper sauce 
1-1/2  cups mozzarella cheese (6 oz.) 
1-1/4  cups crumbled blue cheese (5 oz.) 
1/2  cup shredded Parmesan cheese (2 oz.) 
1/3  cup all-purpose flour (I used sweet rice flour) 
Bottled hot pepper sauce (optional) 

Directions 

1. In 4-quart Dutch oven melt butter over medium heat. Add celery and onion; cook and stir until onion is tender. Stir in broth, milk, and the 1 teaspoon hot pepper sauce. 

2. In bowl toss together mozzarella, 1 cup of the blue cheese, Parmesan, and flour. Add gradually to soup, stirring after each addition just until melted. Stir in three-fourths of the shredded chicken; heat through. Top with remaining chicken, blue cheese, and hot sauce. Makes 6 servings
6 Comments

Filed under Soup

6 responses to “Buffalo Chicken Soup

  1. Gluten Free Steve

    Posted this just for me? WOW! Thank you – this is definitely going into the “must try” file!

  2. Glutigirl

    Carrie, I love the deli chickens too. I haven’t had luck finding them without gluten since going gluten free. I know some of the groceries have them that are gluten free, just not in my local area. Although there is one made by Tyson that I hear is gluten free.

  3. I LOVE using a deli roasted chicken for SO many things!! Those things ROCK! I always buy them a day old for $4.00 at my local food lion! 😉 (and use them immediately!) I bet this soup is DELISH!!! I think we are long lost sister’s Melanie! Really… I do kill plants and it really isn’t on purpose! I would make a good vegetarian! lol haha!

  4. Email me and tell me about Steve’s surgery. I had shoulder surgery twice in 06. It’s a pain in the…shoulder.

  5. That does sound good. I bet my husband would love that. I will have to give this one a try.

Leave a Reply

