The Best Bread EVER!

 

Edit:  The bread machine I use is a Zojirushi.  I use the whole wheat setting at a time of 2:08.  Place all wet ingredients in the bottom of the pan, then the dry ingredients.  Make a well in the dry ingredients and place the yeast there.  If you don’t have a Zo, use the gluten free setting on your machine if you have that.  If not, contact the manufacturer of your machine to see what they recommend.  

This is the best gluten free bread I've ever had. Ever. Natalie, you are a bread genius. In the gluten free cooking world, we have gourmets, goddesses, girls and then there are queens. Natalie, you are the bread queen! 

This bread does not taste like it's gluten free. I could not stop munching on it! I broke all my carb rules for the whole week! But it was way worth it!
I made it exactly like Natalie's recipe but I did it in the bread machine. I mixed all of my wet ingredients together and placed them in the bread machine. Then I mixed all the dry ingredients together minus the yeast and placed that on top of the wet ingredients. Then I put the yeast in on top of the dry ingredients. I didn't have a clue what settings to use so I used the same one I use when I make the Gluten Free Pantry bread mix. 

It was not as tall as the other types of bread I've made, but the flour is probably more dense. The flavor is wonderful!

 
 

Tonight I fixed Chicken fajitas from my menu. This recipe was featured in the March issue of Bon Appetit. It was so pretty I thought I should include some photos of how it turned out. 

Chicken fajitas with crunchy lime cabbage and avocado 

Bon Appétit | March 2008 

Servings: Makes 6 serving 

Ingredients 

6 tablespoons olive oil, divided, plus additional for griddle 

2 garlic cloves, minced 

1 tablespoon chili powder 

2 pounds skinless boneless chicken breast halves,
cut crosswise into 1/2-inch-thick slices 

1 large red bell pepper, cut into 3/4-inch-thick strips 

1 large red onion, halved, sliced lengthwise 

3 cups thinly sliced red cabbage 

2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro 

2 tablespoons fresh lime juice 

2 teaspoons finely grated lime peel 

6 to 8 fajita-size flour tortillas (I used corn tortillas to make the recipe gluten free) 

1 avocado, halved, pitted, sliced 

Preparation
Whisk 3 tablespoons olive oil, garlic, and chili powder in large bowl. Add chicken, bell pepper, and onion. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Toss to coat. Let stand 1 hour at room temperature or chill up to 4 hours.
Toss red cabbage, cilantro, lime juice, lime peel, and 3 tablespoons olive oil in medium bowl. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
Preheat oven to 350°F. 

Wrap tortillas in foil and place in oven until heated through, about 15 minutes.
Meanwhile, place large griddle over 2 burners and heat over medium-high heat. Brush griddle with olive oil. Spread chicken on griddle and cook until chicken is cooked through and vegetables are browned, turning frequently with tongs, about 7 minutes Total.
Divide chicken among warm tortillas; top with cabbage mixture and avocado slices.

 

The slaw part was really good and so pretty! The recipe did not call for it but I added jicama to it. Yum.

 

16 Comments

Filed under Bread, Chicken

16 responses to “The Best Bread EVER!

  1. Melanie-
    Your compliments make me blush! Thank you so much. You made my..um..year! I really loved the flavor of this bread too. Thanks for trying it out in the bread machine. I will get mine working soon! Your pictures are gorgeous as usual. 🙂

  2. That bread does look tasty. And your slaw is gorgeous! Love the color combination.

  3. Glutigirl

    Thank you! The bread has stayed moist and good for 3 days! We finished the last of it today.

  4. Bryan

    Hey I really like your site! Its cool! I bet its helping a lot of people you don’t even know about!

  5. Glutigirl

    Thanks Bryan!

  6. Gina Kinslow

    Hey Mel, your site is fantastic! I enjoy searching through it. Hugs, Gina

  7. Glutigirl

    Thank you Gina! Hugs back to you!

  8. Your bread looks amazing, your photos are fantastic! I love all the colorful soups and salads on your blog. 🙂

  9. The bread sounds divine- I wonder if it would ever work egg-free? Ha. The colors in the slaw are gorgeous!

  10. Susan

    Your recipe sounds divine! However, I don’t have a bread machine with a gluten free setting. Think I can do it on one of the other settings? Thanks!

  11. Hi you all,
    I am going to try this in my bread maker,
    been looking everywhere for help on this,
    let you know.
    from a gluti in England

  12. Lisa from Canada

    HI,
    Did you proof the yeast before adding it or did you just sprinkle it on top? If you didn’t proof, did you add the entire 1 and a quarter cup warm water to the wet ingredients?
    Thanks!

  13. Glutigirl

    Lisa, When I use the bread machine, I just sprinkle it on top. Yes, I use the full amount of water.

  14. dm

    I am trying to respond to the fajitas and have no clue–looks like I am responding to the bread!
    Are these gluten free flour tortilla’s? Isn’t this a gluten free blog?
    I am looking for a recipe for gluten free flour tortillas as we don’t liek the rice ones available (too hard). Thanks!

  15. Glutigirl

    Dm, Yes, this is a gluten free blog. I’m sorry, reading back the post I did not make that clear. The recipe was a gluten recipe from a magazine. I just reprinted it exactly from the magazine which called for flour tortillas. In it’s place, I used corn tortillas.

  16. I’ve been off gluten for a couple of years now, and have never tried making GF bread. I’m ready! A friend gave me a used Zojirushi bread machine (which I will clean very carefully before using). This recipe looks great. My question for you is, what settings did you use? Having never used a bread machine before, I’m at a total loss. It looks from one of your photos like you may also have a Zojirushi machine.
    Thanks for whatever advice you can provide.
    Best,
    Green Key

Leave a Reply

