Eating cloned animals

Is anyone else as bothered as I am about this? The FDA has reported that cloned animals are okay to eat. And, that you will not know if you are eating them since there will not be information on the food label if the animal was cloned or not. I am deeply disturbed about this. In my personal opinion, there can't be enough information about the effects of cloning. How do we know what this will do to generations of cloned animals 30 years from now? 


We are opening a Pandora's box. We alter everything that's given to us and then we wonder why the world is the way it is.
Even if it is okay to eat a cloned animal, don't I have a right to know what I am buying? That this food is altered! 

The same thing goes for genetically modified vegetables and irradiated food. I want to know what I am buying. This stuff is going in my body.
And while I'm on a rant, why the heck can't I buy fish that comes from the United States? Don't we have fishermen here? Every single piece of salmon and talapia I have looked at the last couple months comes from China. Shrimp… the same thing. If I did find it, I'll bet it will cost me an arm and a leg to buy it. Buy it from the US, sell my first born, but ship it all the way from China….cheap, cheap….very affordable. What the heck?? 

The FDA is crazy. They don't know any more about these things they claim to know about anymore than the weather man/person really knows if it's going to snow tomorrow. And we all know the weather man/person doesn't have a clue what's going to happen with the weather tomorrow!
Sorry for a rant post. I think these are really important issues. We all have to wake up and pay attention to what this country is doing to our food supply before it's too late. What can we do about it? I don't know yet. But I'm going to look into it
.
4 Comments

Filed under Uncatagorized

4 responses to “Eating cloned animals

  1. Yes! I am totally horrified. And, frankly, scared – For myself, for small farmers, for the environment, for my (future) children.

  2. Glutigirl

    Me too. I have been trying to buy organics for some time now just for the reason of supporting organic farmers and the fact that it’s just healthier. It’s so hard when you go to the grocery and your choices are limited. I am worried we will only have the choice of things like cloned meat and irradiated vegetables. Especially if people don’t know. Are they going to sneak it in on us and before we know it, that’s all they sell? It’s all about the dollar. It’s scary for our children and their children.

  3. delightfullyglutenfree

    It deeply disturbs me, too. At least give us the facts and let us make our own decisions.
    Did you know that they put carbon monoxide in fish to give it a better color, especially tilapia? I had to look in 5 different grocery stores once to find tilapia without any CO.
    And I know we have American fishermen – it’s the deadliest job in the nation (I saw a documentary once on PBS).
    Seriously. We’ve a big enough nation that we could probably support ourselves a whole lot better if we just tried.
    Rant over – for now. 🙂

  4. Shirley

    I am with you, totally. I don’t want to eat this food. How often has history shown that what we think is safe initially is not at all? I saw a farmer on 60 Minutes recently saying that his genetically modified corn was perfectly safe or he wouldn’t be feeding it to his family … I am sure he believes that, but I sure don’t. It is my understanding that other countries are not allowing GMO’s in their food supply like we are. I am thinking we’ll be eating a whole lot more of the venison we get from the members of our family who hunt. Similar to delightfullyglutenfree, I’ve tried to find fish that is wild vs farm raised (because the farm raised have a much higher rate of carcinogenics) and it hasn’t been easy. I don’t like this situation at all. What will be the result of these changes? Will we go back to raising our own animals for eating?

Leave a Reply

