Menu Monday for the week of January 14th, 2008

It's Monday and time for the weekly menus. I have loved being more organized and knowing what is for dinner. Over the weekend, I hope to do a lot of cooking and freezing of meals. I would like to have a couple casseroles I can pull out of the freezer and heat up when I don't feel like cooking. I'm not going to post any recipes for those meals until I have froze them and then re-heated them so I know if they freeze well and re-heated well. I've been pouring though my once a month cookbooks looking for recipes to convert to gluten free.

So here's the line up for the week…

 

Grilled Salmon with chutney, brown rice and grilled broccoli

 

Meat loaf, potatoes, green beans

 

Shrimp with rice, salad

 

Pork tenderloin, scallop potatoes, salad and crescent rolls

 

Chicken spinach casserole, slaw (I will make extra of this meal and freeze one)

 

While the Colts were losing yesterday, I decided to experiment some more with my chocolate chip cookie recipe. On Sundays we give ourselves a day off from our diet. It's a day to relax and eat whatever we want. I really like this recipe. It's made with more whole grain gluten free flours. I have not had much luck using agave syrup in cookies so far, so I used real sugar in this recipe. This tastes like a whole wheat cookie would. They are light and crisp. I did not have to chill the dough and I did not have to use parchment paper. I was good though and only enjoyed them yesterday. I promptly placed them in the freezer this morning so I won't be tempted to munch on them. I can thaw some next Sunday!

 

dsc02766.jpg

 

 

Melanie's Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

1 cup Montina flour blend

1 cup sorgum flour

1/2 cup teff flour

1 cup gluten free oatmeal

3/4 cup chopped pecans

2 cup chocolate chips

2/3 cup shortening

2/3 cup butter

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

 

Cream together shortening and butter. Add sugars and mix well. Add eggs and vanilla. In a separate bowl, mix together flours, oatmeal, salt and soda. Add to the butter/sugar mixture and mix well. Add pecans and chocolate chips. Drop by teaspoons full on cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for about 10 min.

 

 

dsc02760.jpg

 

3 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Menu Monday

3 responses to “Menu Monday for the week of January 14th, 2008

  1. Glutigirl

    Thanks Lea ray! Glad you found it!

  2. delightfullyglutenfree

    Montina in cookies – another healthy twist. We gotta use that Montina more… I’m thinking…tortillas.

Leave a Reply

