My First Post of the New Year

I hope everyone has had a great Christmas and New Year. I had my family on Christmas day and really enjoyed my time with them. 


My mom and I have a New Years day tradition. We start the first day of every year at the antique malls. I picked her up at around 11:00 am and we spent 2 hours at the first mall. Then we went back to my mom's where she had a wonderful gluten free lunch of salmon rice salad and tomato soup. Of course we had chocolate and coffee for dessert. 

We proceeded to spend the afternoon at the second antique mall and afterwards returned to my house for a New Years day dinner.
I could kick myself for not taking pictures of our dinner. But I think I had antique mall-itis! For Christmas, my husband got me an indoor grill. Yippee! I can grill all winter! 

I had purchased some lamb chops. They are so simple to cook. You need to slice them into chops between the bones, about 3/4"' thick. I marinaded them for about 30 minutes in olive oil, garlic, rosemary, salt and pepper. Grill or pan fry for about 3 minutes each side. They are best when they are a little on the rare side. I served mine with baked potatoes and steamed broccoli. 

Lamb chops seem a little pricey if you are on a budget. But if you price them in a restaurant, they can be around $30.00 a plate and up. I paid $19.00 at Sam's club and got 15 chops. That fed four of us very well. All of us ate for around $25.00. That was a bargain! And lamb chops are to die for! 

I for one am glad January is here. I love the holidays but by the time it's over I'm just tired. I love the month of January. It's the month of new beginnings. Hubby has to start an insulin resistant diet. My focus for the year will be to cook healthier and incorporate more whole grains into our diet. 

Before we started our new healthy diets, I had to make just one meal that was not so healthy. I love fried chicken. I have loved fried chicken since I was a little girl. I have been wanting to try making a gluten free fried chicken for a while now. Tonight was the night! 

I soaked some chicken tenders in milk. I dredged them in equal parts of tapioca flour, rice flour, potato starch, salt, seasoned salt and paprika. Carrie (Ginger Lemon Girl), if you will look closely you will see I am frying in an iron skillet. That is thanks to your post on your grandmother's iron skillet. I just had to have one after reading your post. Maybe I'll pass it down to my granddaughter!

It was a very cold day today…like about 5 degrees. Who knows what the wind chill was. I had to have the 3 hour fasting blood sugar test today. I might be in the same boat as my husband! I have had high fasting levels of glucose. It was so cold in the lab and I had to sit there for 3 hours! It was really busy and people kept coming in. Everytime, all this cold wind would blow in. I felt frozen to the bone by the time I got home and needed this comfort food so bad! It really hit the spot. 

One more thing I have to mention. The young gluti girl works part time at our church kitchen. When she went in her last day before Christmas, her boss Ruth had left her a goodie bag. God bless Ruth! She had made Kati some gluten free cookies and on her day off to boot. Now you know she had a million other things she probably needed to do rather than figure out how to bake gluten free. That was a real blessing for Kati. Thank you Ruth!
9 Comments

Filed under Chicken

9 responses to “My First Post of the New Year

  1. Cassandra

    How sweet of Kati’s boss to do that.I don’t know what’s gotten into me lately – the need to bake or what. But I’ve had cinnamon rolls for breakfast the last 2 days, and now I’m sitting here with a plate of pigs in a blanket. Sheesh.

  2. Gluti Girl

    It’s winter. Don’t you just want those comfort foods?!! I turn into a hermit this time of year and I just want to eat. I have no idea how we are going to keep up this healthy lifestyle. I was just thinking about those sweet rolls you made today after lunch! I think I need to make some for Kati.

  3. Ginger Carter Miller, Ph.D.

    What a sweet post! And yes, I have occasionally counted brocolli as my “Green” money food for New Year’s Day.Now all you need is some black eyed peas…I want to make those better batter rolls, too. YUM. And I don’t ever try things like that. I was a canned crescent roll girl.

  4. Gluten Free Steve

    Don’t you just love people like Ruth, who go that extra mile to make gf goodies for someone? That was so kind of her – I can’t imagine ANYONE at my job doing that for me.

  5. Gluti Girl

    Ginger, can you believe I’ve never had black eyed peas! And I loved cresant rolls. Pampered chef has so many great recipes with them 🙂 I miss that. Steve, Yes Ruth touched me so much. I just couldn’t believe she did that for Kati. It meant so much to her. She (Kati) has a hard time dealing with this.

  6. Carrie

    I see that beauty of a skillet girl!!! NICE! Those chicken tenders look mighty fine as well!!! I want some!! That was so sweet of your daughter’s boss at the kitchen!! I had some friends who gave me gluten-free goodies at christmas and I cannot tell you how much it meant to me!! Happy New Year!!!

  7. Lea Ray

    What a nice tradition you and your mom have on New Years Day. I love to go antiquing. I haven’t gone in forever though.Those chicken tenders look wonderful. Fried chicken is one of my favorite foods also, but I try to stay away from it.Have a wonderful New Year!

  8. Gluti Girl

    Thanks Lea, I love antiquing too. I think it’s the best way to spend the first day of the New Year. I can’t even remember how we started doing it. I’m glad we did though!

  9. Ginger Carter Miller, Ph.D.

    I am waiting for a picture of your new baby, the Zo….

Leave a Reply

