OATMEAL !!!!!!!!


I am a happy girl! Today I received my shipment of Gluten Free Oats!!!! I am so excited. Oatmeal for breakfast, oatmeal cookies, granola, and baked oatmeal!!!
My favorite thing to make for Christmas breakfast is baked oatmeal. I was not sure what I was going to do this year without oatmeal. Problem solved. 


Baked Oatmeal 

1/2 cup oil 
2 eggs 
1 cup sugar 
3 1/2 cups oats 
1/2 teaspoon salt 
1 cup milk 

Grease a 9 x 13" pan. In a bowl, mix together the oil,eggs and milk. Add sugar, oats, and salt. Bake at 350 degrees for around 40 min or until done.
I usually add 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. You can also add raisins, cranberries, apples, chocolate chips or anything else you can think of.
10 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

10 responses to “OATMEAL !!!!!!!!

  1. Cassandra

    Just don’t go too crazy – remember to take it slow. The experts say no more than a half cup a day (for awhile, at least).

  2. Gluti Girl

    Confession time here. I ate a whole bowl for breakfast! My tummys been a little off all day. I think I might have over done it 🙂

  3. Shirley

    I really hope you can eat them. I have tried the GF oats a couple of times now and the results were similar to my gluten-eating days. In my support group of about 25, 2 of us have not been able to eat them–even in moderation. For anyone who can eat them, here’s a fantastic recipe for flourless oatmeal cookies. http://www.thatsmyhome.com/hannahs/cookies/flourless-oatmeal-cookies.htm I like naturally GF recipes (which this one is as long as you use GF oats) where you don’t have to worry about having special flours on hand. Everyone loves this recipe. The cookies come out very flat, but chewy with “caramelized” bottoms. I could eat a couple of them with no issues, but I could not eat the 1/2 cup of oatmeal by itself for breakfast. I am contemplating trying again some time though at a much more reduced amount. However, it does make me wonder why something that is supposed to be okay has to be introduced slowly. I know the logic behind it, but still I wonder. I have read on the celiac listserv that Dr. Fine (Enterolab, Institute for Finer Health, etc.) doesn’t encourage even GF oats for those with gluten issues.

  4. Karina

    I just ordered from Bob’s- eagerly awaiting the delivery of rolled and steel cut oats.Do you think the baked oatmeal would convert to egg-free? it sounds so good. I’d love to try it.And yes- oats are high in fiber- so go slow. Give your body time to adjust. Most gluten-free flours are very low in fiber (except for bean flours!). Maybe we get used to all the low fiber starches?Have a healthy, safe and happy New Year!

  5. Gluti Girl

    Karina, I would love to see you convert the baked oatmeal to egg free. I don’t know if EnerG egg replacer would work. I used to make this with instant oats and I noticed that using the Bob’s Red mill, it doesn’t hold together as well. It still tastes good, just doesn’t keep it’s shape. I am wondering if next time I might add some flour to it as well. Probably some Pamela’s mix would help it keep it’s shape. I am looking forward to trying some new grains this coming year. I’ve had enough of white rice flour products! Time for some fiber and healthy eating!Thank you for the well wishes and I hope you continue to heal up and get strong 🙂

  6. Ginger Carter Miller, Ph.D.

    I hope you have better luck with them than I did — turns out I am not ready to have oats….

  7. Carrie

    I LOVE baked oatmeal! I posted about it back in October (I think! I can’t remember that far back! haha!) But that sounds very similar to how I make it! I actually have a store in a small town close by that special orders the gluten-free oatmeal for me in bulk!! I was SO excited the first time I bought it!! I hope you can adjust to the oats girl! I go WAY easy on them anyway because I felt a little sick after I ate them the first time too!! I hope you get better and can tolerate them!! 😉 Happy New Year’s!!

  8. Bobbi Graves

    You have an awesome blog site, my precious Gluti Friend. I am so impressed that I signed up on your blog! Miss you – Happy 2008!Bobbi

  9. Gluti Girl

    Hey girlfriend! So happy to see you here. Hope you had a good New Years Eve with your hubbie. We have to get together soon!

  10. Cheekalina

    That baked oatmeal looks good! I just found a recipe from my grandma for it too – ohh… it sounds perfect for a little dinner on a cold night too. That and a little maple syrup! OH! I’d best stop writing now or I’m gonna have a LONG wait until dinner! LOL

Leave a Reply

