Cookies round 2!!!!!


Ok, here it goes, round 2. We'll start with Pecan Tassies. I learned how to make these cookies in my tea room class and have been making these for 30+ years. I decided to keep it simple when trying to convert this recipe, so I used Pamela's Pancake and baking mix along with a little potato starch.
My family taste testers were very happy with them, liking them even better than when they were made with gluten. I was very happy with how they turned out but would still like to experiment with the recipe just for fun and try different gf flours. 


Pecan Tassies 

Crust 

3 oz. cream cheese 
1/2 cup butter 
1 cup Pamela's Pancake and baking mix 
1/8 cup of potato starch 

Filling 

1 egg 
3/4 cup brown sugar 
1 T. butter 
1 teaspoon vanilla 
dash of salt 
chopped pecans 

For the crust, in a mixer cream together butter and cream cheese. Slowly add flour and form a ball. Chill dough. You will need 2 small mini muffin pans. I use a small size scoop, fill it with dough, then roll dough into approximately 1 inch balls. You should have enough dough for 2 whole pans which is 2 dozen balls. 

For the next step I have a wood tool that is very helpful in forming the crust. I dip it in flour and then push it down on the center of the ball. Now you do not need this tool to make the crust. Use your finger to push down the center of the ball and press around the side of the pan to form the crust.


After forming all of the crusts, place 1/4 teaspoon of chopped pecans on the bottom of each crust.

Then mix together the egg, brown sugar, butter, vanilla and salt. I like to put this mixture into a generic ketchup bottle. They are the clear plastic squeeze bottles with a nozzle top you can find at any discount or cooking store. It makes it so much easier to get the filling in each crust. Otherwise, carefully pour the filling into the crust being careful to fill it just below the top of the crust.

After you fill all the crusts, sprinkle more pecans on the top of each one. Honestly I don't measure here, I just sprinkle how ever many look good. Bake at 350 degrees for about 15 to 20 minutes. Watch them carefully. The original recipe said to bake for 30 minutes but this gf version bakes much quicker.
Once cool, carefully remove them from the pan using a knife to pry them out. Set on a cooling tray. I always store these in the refrigerator in a tightly closed container.

My next cookie is my mom's cutout recipe. I think everyone has a favorite recipe for this popular Christmas cookie. I love this one because it has cream cheese in it and it's not overly sweet, which leaves the sweetness for the icing. These are the cookies my son and nephew loved when they were little. I always think of them running around my moms house eating them. They are both over 6ft. tall now. Not so little anymore! 

Holiday sugar cookies (my mom's) 

1 8 oz. cream cheese 
1/2 cup butter 
1/3 cup sugar 
1/2 teaspoon vanilla 
2 cups flour (I used 2 cups Pamela's again and added about a 1/4 cup of potato starch)

 Mix together cream cheese and butter. Add sugar and vanilla. Add flours and mix together well. Divide dough in 2 equal parts and chill. Roll out on wax paper with floured rolling pin about 1/8 inch thick. Cut into shapes with cookie cutters. Bake 10 min. at 375 degrees. Cook on rack then decorate with icings and sprinkles.

For the icing I take a couple spoonfuls of powdered sugar. Mix in enough milk to make the consistency you like and a shot of vanilla. I like mine thin enough it flows but thick enough it sticks to the cookie without being to runny. I don't measure anything to mix this up. Just guess. You can add more sugar if it's too thin or milk if it's too thick.
3 Comments

Filed under Cookies

3 responses to “Cookies round 2!!!!!

  1. Carrie

    You are TOO awesome Melanie! I haven’t made a cookie yet, although I will cookie crazy this week!!! 😉 These look AWESOME!!! Those pecan tassies are gorgeous, as well as those sugar cookies! You are smart to keep it easy this time of year! They sure don’t look easy!! 😉 They will definitely be in the roundup girl!!

  2. Karen

    Both of those look great! I love those little pecan pie ones – I have a friend that makes something similar that I used to love (but they aren’t gf). Where did you find that tool for pressing out the crust?I agree about the cream cheese in the cookie dough – it worked well for me this year. I can’t wait until next year when I’ll be home to be baking more cookies. Merry Christmas and happy baking!

  3. Carrie

    melanie!!! I just realized your sugar cookie is almost identical to my cream cheese metaways! That’s so wierd!! I just made those up from an all-recipes.com recipe the other day! How cool! We just think alike!! They do make some awesome cookies!!

Leave a Reply

