Chili Sunday


Don't bother Mia there. She's busy watching the game and waiting for Chili! Last week, Carrie over at Ginger Lemon Girl posted about
Chili. It made me hungry for Chili. In my mind, Chili is the perfect game day food. I like to put a big pot on and let it simmer while watching the Colts win. 


I have found that in different regions of the country, chili is made different. Even each family has it's family traditions. Some like only meat, no beans. Some like only beans, no meat. Some people add macaroni to it which I think is wrong! The ways to make it are endless. Heck, I never make it the same way twice myself! 

My mom always called it Chili soup when we were growing up. I just call it chili, but technically it's a soup. I love to make soup. I rarely follow a recipe with any kind of soup. I like to see what kind of mood I'm in and go with that.
I always make my chili with a tomato and beef broth base. I always put in beans, but like to change what kind I use depending on my mood. Usually, I use ground beef but sometimes I will use ground turkey. Onions, garlic and chili powder are a must as well. Sometimes I put cinnamon in it. If I'm in the mood chopped veggies will go in also. 

Last Sunday I used everything I could think of. Just in one of those moods. Add a little of this, a little of that….oh, I needed a bigger pot! 

Chili 

1 pound of ground beef 
1 onion 
1/2 green pepper 
1 or 2 carrots or a handful of baby carrots 
2 14 oz. cans chopped tomatoes 
1 15 oz. tomato sauce 
1 15 oz. can of pinto beans drained and rinsed 
1 15 oz. can of black beans drained and rinsed 
1 15 oz. can of great northern beans drained and rinsed 
1 4 oz. can chopped green chili's 
3 cups water 
3 teaspoons McCays Beef Style Instant Broth and Seasoning 
1 teaspoon dried parsley 
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon 
1/2 teaspoon chili powder 
2 cloves garlic crushed
salt and pepper to taste 

Finely chop the onions, carrots and green pepper. I use a pampered chef chopper that chops fairly fine.


In a large soup pan, saute the vegetables with the ground beef until the meat is cooked well done. Drain off the fat. Add the rest of the ingredients. Let simmer for at least and hour. Sometimes I add a couple tablespoons of cornmeal the last 1/2 hour if it's not thick enough. This will thicken it a bit. Serve with shredded cheese, sour cream, tortilla chips, corn bread etc. Enjoy!
Leave a comment

Filed under Soup

Leave a Reply

