Bread Pudding


There were several things that stressed me when the doctor told me I couldn't eat gluten any more. For one thing I just loved bread. Most of my favorite foods involved gluten in some way. Growing up if you asked what my favorite meal was I would have said fried chicken, green bean casserole and corn on the cob. Thanks to Gluten Free Mommy with her green
bean casserole recipe, which by the way is wonderful, I have been able to recreate that dish with no problem. 


I haven't attempted fried chicken yet. I also miss Chinese take out, being able to order french onion soup when we go out to dinner. And, bread pudding. There are a couple restaurants we go to only once a year that make killer bread puddings. Beside soy sauce, and fried chicken it was one of the first things I thought about as I learned of all the foods I would no longer be able to enjoy unless I found a way to make them gluten free. 

For Thanksgiving I made a huge loaf of bread with a recipe I got off of the Delphi Forums for New York Times Bread. It makes a really dense, crusty loaf of bread. I had some left over and it was starting to get stale. Not wanting to waste it I decided to try and make some bread pudding. I found this recipe at Bon Appetit and just couldn't wait to try it. It was wonderful! Real comfort food. The gooey melted chocolate was to die for! I may not be able to go out to eat and enjoy my favorite dessert there, but I know I can make it at home just as well. Enjoy your leftover bread! 

Bread Pudding with warm Praline sauce 

1 pound load of bread (about 13 cups) crusts removed and cut into cubes 
1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips 
1 cup chopped pecans 
4 cups whole milk 
1 1/2 cup sugar 
6 large eggs 
1/2 cup butter melted 
1 teaspoon vanilla (the recipe didn't call for this but I added it) 

Spray the bottom of a 9X13 pan with a no stick spray. Layer the cubed bread with the chocolate chips and pecans in the pan. In a mixing bowl, whisk eggs. To the eggs add the milk, sugar, butter and vanilla. Mix well. Pour over bread. Let this mixture sit at room temperature in the pan for about and hour until the liquid is absorbed, occasionally pressing the bread cubes into the liquid. Bake at 350 degrees for about an hour and 10 minutes. Serve while still warm with praline sauce and a little ice cream on the side! 

Praline Sauce 

1/2 cup brown sugar 
1/4 cup light corn syrup 
2 tablespoons butter 
2 tablespoons brandy 
2 cinnamon sticks 
1 tablespoon rum 
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract 
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg 
1/3 cup chopped pecans 

Combine brown sugar, corn syrup, butter, brandy, cinnamon sticks, rum, vanilla extract, and nutmeg in heavy small saucepan. Bring to boil, stirring until brown sugar dissolves. Boil 1 minute. Mix in pecans. Spoon over hot bread pudding. Enjoy!
7 Comments

Filed under Desserts

7 responses to “Bread Pudding

  1. Ginger Carter Miller, Ph.D.

    I have to say, the two things I miss the most:1. Chinese takeout food.2. Food from The Varsity in AtlantaYour bread pudding looks delicious. I have leftover bread….might try some.

  2. Cassandra

    I don’t think I’ve ever had bread pudding. Maybe I’m missing out.

  3. Gluti Girl

    Ginger, I miss those cute little boxes. I swear it taste better in those boxes and chopsticks! Cassandra, Oh bread pudding is just the best! It’s so good and comforting on a cold day. Most people make it with cinnamon and raisins. I like this recipe because of the chocolate chips and pecans. The chocolate got all melty. Yum!

  4. ByTheBay

    I ADORE bread pudding! Nice to find your blog, btw… You can see mine here, if ya like. Now I’m thinking I should use the rest of that loaf of bread I used for Thanksgiving stuffing to make me some bread pudding. Yum.

  5. Karina

    That sounds totally fabulous. Yum.I’ve been thinking about trying a bread pudding, too [I’d have to make it dairy-free (not a problem) and egg-free (problem).Thanks for the inspiration! Take care!Karina

  6. Gluti Girl

    Bythebay, I will definitely check out your blog! Glad you found mine.Karina, wow, seems like someone would make a liquid egg replacer without eggs. Problem is it would probably have a bunch of chemicals in it. I wonder if you could use gelatin as a replacement for the eggs?

  7. Karina

    Yes- I was thinking of trying gelatin. I’ll let you know how it goes. ;)Be well!Karina

Leave a Reply

