My Thanksgiving menu

I am both excited and nervous about Thanksgiving. This will be my first one being gluten free. I still feel like such a rookie with all of this. I am excited because I love to cook and I have found some new recipes that I am excited to try. I am nervous at the prospect of having to make everything from scratch. Will it be good? Will I be able to get it all done? Will I collapse from exhaustion? 


You know when you can eat gluten there are so many shortcuts. You can buy pre-made pie crust and pre-made bread and rolls.
I have spent a lot of time this week planning the menu and planning exactly when I will be preparing what. I am preparing as much as I can ahead of time. This weekend I will be baking the bread that will be used for the stuffing and the rolls. I will freeze everything and thaw them as needed. 


My big delimma was over green bean casserole. This is one of my daughter's favorite dishes. I was just going to make simple roasted green beans, but then I was inspired by this post at Gluten Free Mommy. When I saw her post I just knew I had to make it for my girl. So we will be keeping green bean casserole on the menu. 


I also found several really yummy looking new recipes in the November issue of Bon Appetit magazine. I have tried to link you to the recipes if they were available online. I will be adapting the Cranberry-Chocolate tart to make it gluten free. I am using gluten free chocolate cookies for the crumb crust. Of course I am going to try to remember to take pictures and post recipes of the things I think worked really well after Thanksgiving.
So here is the line up…. 


My grandmother's stuffing

Mashed Potatoes 
Green Bean Casserole 
My mom's cranberries 
Romaine Salad with Raspberry dressing 
Deviled eggs 
Rolls
Pumpkin Pie
9 Comments

Filed under Thanksgiving

9 responses to “My Thanksgiving menu

  1. Ginger Carter Miller, Ph.D.

    I didn’t know you were on the Celiac listserv until to today! Your menu looks good. I’m not that far along. I still haven’t decided if I will cook at all.I have a good and pretty easy southern cornbread dressing on my blog. It’s listed under the recipes. Are you doing the GB Casserole with Funyums?

  2. Carrie

    This menu looks fantastic girls!!! I can’t wait to see your pictures!!

  3. Gluti Girl

    Thanks Carrie! And Ginger I just saw your message on the delphi board. Is that the same as listserv? I didn’t know you were on delpi! Cool! And I am making my GB casserole with home made onion rings like Gluten Free Mommy did. It looked so yummy on her site!

  4. Ginger Carter Miller, Ph.D.

    Yep, I’m Ginger in Georgia on the Delphi site — prone to getting her feelings hurt and being whiny.

  5. Carrie

    gluti girl — you won the mystery photo contest on my site! I think I emailed you, but I hadn’t heard back, so I thought I would contact you here! You can email me at gingerlemon_girl(at)yahoo(dot)com with your address and I’ll ship the Gluten-Free recipe book to you ASAP!

  6. Gluti Girl

    Carrie, I’m so excited! I can’t believe no one else guessed it? I’ll bet the email got sent to junk. It does that sometimes with my mail. I’ll email you with my address. Thanks!

  7. Ginger Carter Miller, Ph.D.

    I left YOU off my thankful list! I will add you to the list — I meant to. And I’m thankful I found your blog, and you, too!

  8. Gluti Girl

    Ginger, you are too sweet!

  9. kbabe1968

    Hope you don’t mind if we show up on your doorstep! 😀 Sounds TERRIFIC!!!

Leave a Reply

