Beans and Rice


I am alone again for lunch. Oh, time to make beans. I can not feed my husband beans. I won't go into the details as to why. But I love beans. This is my mom's creation. She lives on this meal. It makes a quick easy lunch for one and adapts easily to a lunch or dinner for many people. 

I sauteed half of a small onion with some olive oil in a skillet. Cook till the onions are tender. Then add a cup of cooked brown rice. I keep cooked brown rice frozen and in my freezer at all times. Then add about a cup of drained black beans. Add a pinch of cumin and a clove of crushed garlic. Cook till heated through. I put mine in a big bowl, sprinkled with cheddar cheese and cilantro. A squirt of lime will add an extra zing!

I beg of you….do you think they look spoiled? This was taken last weekend while studying my blogging for dummies book. Which by the way….I need the moron book. Are morons dumber that dummies? Or maybe I need the super stupid extra retarded there is no hope for me because I don't understand computers book. I swear html is a conspiracy to make some people go mental. I can actually feel my brain spin if I even attempt to read about it. Uncle!
3 Comments

Filed under Vegetarian

3 responses to “Beans and Rice

  1. Anonymous

    Hey, I found your blog through Gluten Free Girl (Shauna)- I’m in Indy too! I don’t know if I have celiac, but I’m going to attempt to go gluten free soon, because I’ve noticed grains giving me digestive distress. I found the gluten free Indy site through your blog. Just wanted to say hi!-K

  2. Gluti Girl

    Wow, cool! The Indy group is great! If you follow the links under learn more about celiac there is lots of information. You know in order to get testing you need to continue to eat gluten? Let me know how it turns out. If you join the Indy group you can post messages to each other. It’s great because you find out what’s going on around the city, where to eat, shop, etc. Good luck!

  3. Carrie

    Well yes, my dear… those dogs look incredibly spoiled!! But so do my 4 cats!!! I LOVE that rice and beans dish, looks much better than the one I bought at a restaurant the other day. I’m going to put this on my menu for one night the week after next!! Thanks for the great idea!! I loved your comment on my blog yesterday!

Leave a Reply

