Super Dooper Quick Meal of the Week

This super quick meal of the week comes with some products reviews. It's a twofer! Two for one. I'm a goof ball, I know. Sunday, I made a big meal for everyone. I made a pork tenderloin with apricot jam and horseradish poured over it, baked potatoes, and a most yummy beet salad. I can't believe I forgot to take a picture of it. I swear it was a thing of beauty! I know, I can hear you now thinking…yuk….beets! I used to be the same way. But there I was in Kroger with the most incredible organic beets staring at me. I had to do something! Pampered Chef to the rescue. I found a recipe with orange basil dressing, feta cheese, onions etc. Next time I make it will post a picture and a recipe. Yum. Beet love.

Back to the quick meal. So it's Monday night and I've got leftover pork tenderloin and not much else. I really need to go to the grocery. It's scrounge time. Here is where the product reviews come in. First I found in my cupboard, a bottle of Trader Joe's Red curry sauce. This is just the yummiest sauce. Just a hint of spicy. If you have rice and some leftover meat and veggies, you have a meal.

In the freezer I had a bag of Trader Joe's organic brown rice. This stuff is a lifesaver. There is so little convenience food that you can buy when you eat free. I try to take advantage of every bit of convenience I can find. I go to Trader Joe's once a month because it's not very convenient to where I live. I buy about 4 boxes of it at a time. It's already cooked. All you have to do is zap it 3 minutes in the microwave and it tastes like fresh cooked rice. I am pretty picky about things like this. I never liked convenience food or microwave meals even when I could have them.

Next I had to find some veggies. I know you all have done this, digging in your freezer and veggie drawer. Drat! I was out of broccoli. Broccoli would have been good. I found about a half a bag of fresh baby carrots, one slice of leftover onion, some frozen corn, and a bag of frozen artichoke hearts from Trader Joe's. No, I don't own stock in their company!

It was so quick. First I threw the rice in the microwave for 2 min. I chopped the onion and carrots. Threw them into a skillet with some olive oil. While they were cooking I chopped the pork into some bite size pieces. When the rice was done, I slightly heated both the frozen corn and artichoke hearts in the microwave. As soon as the carrots and onions were to my liking (I like them still slightly crispy), I added the meat, corn and artichoke hearts to the skillet. I sauteed them for a minute or so and added the jar of red curry sauce. After it was good and hot I added the bag of rice and continued to cook for another couple minutes.

I searched the cupboard for a jar of applesauce to round out the meal and we had leftover rolls (gluten free of course!) from Sunday dinner. Good, quick, easy, hot, comfort food! This picture does not do it justice. It was a really gloomy night, and bad lighting but trust me, it's a good curry sauce!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Super Dooper Quick Meal of the Week

  1. Carrie

    I love fast easy pantry dinners like that! You just never know what you’ll end up with!! Great ideas!! Thank you so much for commenting on my site!!

  2. Gluti Girl

    I love your blog! I’m so glad I found it. You have such great ideas too. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

