Practicing for Thanksgiving


Thanksgiving is just around the corner and I have been practicing. Being that this is my first gluten free Thanksgiving, I am a little nervous about how to make all of those traditional recipes gluten free. I have been the pie maker in our family for years. I have never been good at making pie crust and always bought Pillsbury ready made because it always looked and tasted like homemade. 

Well, those days are over.
After searching on the internet for a good recipe, I saw someone on the Delphi Forums had recommended a recipe from Bette Hagman. For those of you that don't know, she has written numerous gluten free cookbooks and just recently passed away. The first thing I did after going free was to order most of her books on Amazon. 

The recipe I used was from her cookbook titled "More from the Gluten-Free Gourmet". It's called Donna Jo's Dream Pastry. It was so easy to make I couldn't believe it! I thought it was better than Pillsbury. My family could not tell it was gluten free. It had a good flavor and was flakey. Best of all, it did not over brown. I seemed to always have problems with my crust getting brown very quickly. This baked perfectly. So don't be afraid to try this. You will not be disappointed! 

The recipe calls for butter flavored Crisco, but I don't use hydrogenated shortening or care for artificial flavors. I used Spectrum organic non-hydrogenated vegetable shortening. I also used butter instead of margarine.  The plastic wrap method seemed to be the best way to roll it out. I also tried wax paper and that worked as well.

Donna Jo's Dream Pastry 

1/2 cup tapioca flour 
/2 cup cornstarch 
1/4 cup potato starch flour 
1 cup sweet rice flour 
1 round teaspoon xanthan gum 
1/2 teaspoon salt
Dash sugar 
1/2 cup (1 stick) margarine 
1/2 cup Butter flavor Crisco 
1 egg, cold 
1 tablespoon GF vinegar 
4 tablespoons ice water 
Sweet rice flour, for rolling 

Blend together the flours, xanthan gum, salt, and sugar. Cut in the margarine and Crisco in small dabs until you have shortening the size of lima beans (not cornmeal).
Beat the egg using a fork; add the vinegar and ice water. Stir into the flour mixture, forming a ball. You may knead this a bit, since rice flour crusts can stand handling. 

Refrigerate the dough for an hour or more to chill.
Divide dough and roll out on a sweet rice-floured board (or on plastic wrap). Place in pie tin. If using plastic wrap, remove it to the pie tin and invert the dough into the pan. Shape before removing the plastic. Bake as directed for the filling used. 

For a baked crust, prick the pastry with a fork on sides and bottom. Bake the crust in a preheated 450 degree oven for 10 to 12 minutes, or until lightly browned. Cool before filling.
Makes enough pastry for a 2-crust 9" pie and 1 pie shell. 

Pecan filling 

3 eggs 
2/3 cup sugar 
1/2 teaspoon salt 
1/3 cup butter, melted 
1 cup corn syrup 
1 cup pecans ( I always use just a bit more) 

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Prepare unbaked pastry. Beat eggs, sugar, salt, butter and syrup with wisk. Stir in pecans. Pour into pastry-lined pie plate. Bake until set, 40-50 minutes.
Enjoy!
2 Comments

Filed under Desserts

2 responses to “Practicing for Thanksgiving

  1. Cassandra

    That pie looks wonderful! I think the lighting makes the picture especially great.

  2. Gluti Girl

    Thanks Cassandra! Everyone sure ate it up fast 🙂 I am still learning the photography part. It’s a little tricky!

Leave a Reply

