Bring a dessert to share!

Several of my friends and their husbands are going on a cruise next spring. One of the friends in our group had a get together at her house Saturday night and we were all asked to bring a dessert to share, and we would all talk about the cruise. 

She had a pirate theme going and upon entering the house, we were given pirate names and pirate clothes to wear. My friend picked out my pirate name. We both have a interesting sense of humor. She gave me the name Pooped Deck. I am not going to explain this as you all should know what this means if you are gluten intolerant such as myself. She has followed and supported me through this whole ordeal of learning how to be gluten free with a sense of humor.

My problem was what to make for dessert. I am still so new to this way of cooking. Once before, I had made my family recipe for Mayonnaise cake with success, so I decided to try it again. I love this recipe because most of the time I have everything on hand and it is so quick and easy to mix up. 

For the icing I made the recipe that is on the Hershey's Cocoa box. My cocoa kept clumping up and not mixing well, so I could see specs of it in my icing when I spread it. I had some coconut in the cupboard as well as pecans and caramel syrup in the refridgerator so I used the addition of those items to cover up my lumpy frosting. Sometimes you have to be creative!

My family Mayonnaise cake

1 1/2 cup sugar
3 t. soda
3 cups flour ( I used 2 cups of Pamela's gluten free pancake and baking mix, and 1 cup of Montina flour blend, but it will also work with 3 cups of Pamela's if you don't have any Montina flour blend)
4 T. cocoa
 1 1/2 cup water
1 1/2 t. vanilla
1 1/2 cup mayonnaise

Mix together dry ingredients in a large bowl. Mix together wet ingredients in a separate bowl. Add the wet to the dry and mix well. Pour into greased and floured 9 X 12 pan. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes or until done.

Chocolate frosting

1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, melted
2/3 cup Hershey's cocoa
3 cups powdered sugar
1/3 cup milk
1 t. vanilla

With a mixer, mix together butter and cocoa. Alternately add powdered sugar and milk, beating on medium speed to spreading consistency. Stir in vanilla.After the cake has cooled, spread on frosting. I sprinkled my cake with some sweetened coconut, chopped pecans and drizzled the top with caramel syrup. You could just as easily top your cake with what ever your favorite toppings are or just leave it plain. Hey, grab a cup of coffee to go along with it!
Leave a comment

Filed under Desserts

Leave a Reply

