These are a few of my favorite things….


Sometimes God gives us blessings in disguise. That is the way I look at this whole gluten intolerance thing. When I first found out I couldn't eat gluten I thought life was over. I was very overwhelmed. I didn't even know where to start. I sat and cried when I found out I couldn't eat soy sauce. So many asian foods are my favorite.
But then I learned some things… what to buy… what to eat… and how to find substitutes for my favorite things. I found out that the gluten free life is not so bad. It was a blessing in disguise. 

When I think of all the foods over the last 6 months that I would have eaten, that really were not healthy foods, but I didn't because of gluten being in them, then I am thankful.
When my daughter found out she had the same problem, she cried as well. But now she has adjusted. It's so funny when we find things we like how excited we can get. 

Today we tried a new bread and it tasted so much like regular bread we got all excited! If you are new to this, don't give up. You will find things you like. Don't be afraid to try things. Almost every new gluten free product I find, I try. Now, just a warning, you will have to try a lot of things before you find what you like. But, try them just the same. 

I thought I would list a few of my favorite things I have found. Everyone has different likes and dislike so you might not like some of what I have listed here, but they are the products I have had success with. 

My very favorite gluten free product is Pamela's baking and pancake mix. I could not get along without this mix. I read about it on another blog. I use this for my flour in most all cookie, cake and muffin recipes. I have kept all of my own recipes that I have used for years and just use this for the flour instead of the wheat flour. Most times I have to add a little extra. For example, if the original recipe called for 3 cups of flour, I would use somewhere around 4 cups of Pamela's. What I like about her mix is things do not taste gritty. They stay moist too. I also use this mix to make a crustless quiche that turns out wonderful. In the coming months I will list some of my recipes and how I use this mix. 

My other favorite thing is Chebe bread. The kind of bread I miss is the kind with a crisp, chewy crust and a soft inside. Chebe satisfies that craving. The first thing I ever tried were the frozen rolls. They are about the size of ping pong balls. The crust is very chewy and crispy. The inside is a little gooey. But they really hit the spot. They also make bread sticks and pizza crust that come frozen. Then they have a dry mix that comes in different flavors to make into either rolls, pizza, bread sticks, cinnamon rolls etc. I always keep both the mix and frozen on hand. I have served the bread sticks to company many times with great success. They are always eaten until gone! 

I have not found any cookies that I think are worth the calories you have to consume to eat them. Therefore I do not buy hardly any gluten free cookies. And for the life of me I can't figure out why I can't find a good store bought one. I make a delicious home made chocolate chip cookie. So when I have a real craving I just make some home made. Glutino has a pretty good wafer style. So if you are looking for one to try that is store bought, I would start with that. 

Here is a short list of some other gluten free foods that are my favorite: 

rader Joe's frozen brown rice 
Trader Joe's Brown rice pasta 
Trader Joe's gluten free french rolls
 Trader Joe's Chicken apple sausage 
Trader Joe's Mini savory crackers 
Fit For Life brown rice bread 
Amy's rice crust pizza 
Lay's Stacks potato crisps 
Bob's Red MIll cornbread mix 
Mary's Gone Crackers 
Envirokids organic crispy rice bars 

In the future, I will try to blog about how I use these particular products and what I like about them. So, stay tuned. And yes, I did eat the chocolate after I finished taking the picture!
1 Comment

Filed under Favorite products

One response to “These are a few of my favorite things….

  1. Sherrybaby

    I wanted to let you know that I have found a great cookie mix as one of my favorite things. It’s not hard to make and my non-celiac family really likes the taste and texture. It is called Pamela’s Chocolate Chunk Cookie Mix. I add pecans. The recipe states not to overcook and it is correct. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

