Beer and Pizza….really!


Yes, you can have beer and pizza on a gluten free diet! You might have to make it yourself, but don't let that scare you. I always keep a bag of Chebe brand pizza crust mix in the cupboard. I never know when I might get a craving for pizza. Mix the pizza dough according to instructions. What I like about this mix is if you like a thick crust, just roll it out thick. If you like your crust thin and crispy like I do, roll it out very thin. It comes out very crispy.
I also like to keep things simple. My philosophy in the kitchen is very simple, don't be afraid to experiment. What's the worst that could happen? Maybe the dog will have to eat it? Sometimes I buy special ingredients for pizza and have a plan. Other times, like when I made this pizza, I got in the cupboard and refridgerator and used what I had on hand. When I made this pizza I was out of jarred sauce so I used a can of paste mixed with water, fresh basil, oregano, parsley, garlic, salt and pepper. I happen to have the herbs growing in the garden right now. If I had not had those herbs fresh then I would have used dried herbs. And if I had jarred sauce, I would not hesitate to use it! I found a can of mushrooms and black olives in the cupboard. In the fridge I had some fresh mozzarella, parmesan cheese, half of an onion, green pepper and some pepperoni that came from the freezer.
The thing is, you really don't need a recipe for this. Mix the crust, throw on some sauce from a jar or make your own. Add what ever toppings you like. Grab a cold Redbridge or Bard's Tale and dig in! Life couldn't get any better!

Leave a comment

Filed under Pizza

Leave a Reply

