Recipes and a warning….

First the warning.  Last night I was blog hopping and one of my stops was at Cassandra's Delightfully Gluten Free.  She had a blog post about an article she read in the Chicago Tribune.  You can read the post here about it.  In a nutshell, the article is about how some foods are labeled and sold as gluten free, when in fact they are not completely gluten free.  Please, take time to read the article.  You can access it from a link on Cassandra's blog.   

Cassandra is encouraging letter writing to a  company called Wellshire Farms that produces chicken nuggets and other products.  Even though they state they are a gluten free product, there is gluten found in them and it is way above the accepted standard.  Their products are targeted to young children.  Serving these products to your celiac children or those allergic to wheat could cause serious problems.  Please join us in encouraging this company to do the right thing.   

Occasionally I've gotten symptoms like I've eaten gluten, when I know I've been careful and haven't.  I wonder how many other products there are that claim they are gluten free, but in reality might not always be.  I know, if I don't make everything my self totally from scratch that there is no guarantee.  But, when I buy a product that claims something, I do expect that the company I buy it from would do something to ensure enough quality control in their product to live up to it's claims.  Otherwise, they need to remove their claim to be gluten free so I have a realistic expectation of what my risk is.   

Now, some recipes to share!  One you might want to make for Thanksgiving!  Pumpkin Soup.  A couple of years ago my brother made this recipe and brought it to Thanksgiving dinner.  It's been a favorite of me and my mom's ever since.  It's really so easy to make!  Forgive me for the horrible picture.  These dark winter nights do nothing for taking pictures of food at the dinner table! 

Pumpkin Soup 

dsc05442 

2 Tablespoons butter 

1/4 cup minced onion (very fine) 

1 Tablespoon gluten free flour (I used sweet rice) 

1 1/2 teaspoon curry powder 

Cook the butter and onion in a sauce pan till tender, then add the flour and curry powder and cook for 2 minutes.  
Set off the heat and add: 

2 -10 3/4 oz cans of chicken broth 

1- 16 oz can pumpkin 

2 teaspoons brown sugar ( l always add a tad more) 

salt and pepper to taste and a sprinkle of nutmeg
  

Put back on heat until the soup thickens and add 1 cup of milk or milk substitute.  This would be a great first course for Thanksgiving dinner or great for leftover night!
  

So after a couple days of turkey, you will be sick, sick, sick of it!  I know I get that way.  I don't even want any more casseroles or soups made from leftover turkey.  Get me far away from it!  
I have a couple recipes for the weekend to get you far away from turkey.  One, I made last night.  This will be a new favorite recipe.  I got it from my Bon Appetit cookbook.  You can use leftover cranberry sauce with this, so save some! 

Salmon with cranberry mustard sauce

dsc05444 

1/3 cup olive oil 

2 tablespoons Dijon Mustard 

4- 6 oz salmon fillets 

1/3 cup cranberry sauce 

2 tablespoons shallots 

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

 Mix together the olive oil and mustard.  Put the salmon in a greased baking dish.  Brush the salmon with 2 tablespoons of the mustard sauce.  Bake at 425 degrees about 13 minutes.  While the fish is baking, add the remainder of the mustard sauce to the cranberry sauce along with the shallots and wine vinegar.  
After baking, turn the oven to broil and broil the fish until it's brown and bubbly on top.  Remove from the oven and add the cranberry sauce over the top of the salmon.   

Cooks notes: I read through the directions too quick and put all the mustard sauce on my fish.  I then baked it.  I did not see a need for broiling it since I had so much mustard sauce on my fish, it browned up nicely while it baked.  Since all the mustard sauce got put on during the baking process, I didn't have any extra to add to my cranberries.  It was still wonderful!  Also, I didn't have any red wine vinegar so I added orange champagne vinegar.  Sometimes you have to improvise!  This was a keeper recipe.   

The next recipe is one I've posted before.  I made it that last weekend and thought how good it would be for Thanksgiving weekend.  So a re-post is in order.  You can put this in the crock pot in the morning, decorate your house for Christmas or watch some football.  When you're hungry, it will be ready!   

Taco Soup 

2 pounds ground beef (or you could use turkey) 

1 medium onion, chopped 

1 can 28 oz. tomatoes (I use crushed tomatoes) 

1 can 15 oz. tomato sauce 

1 cup water 

1 can 15 oz. pinto beans, drained and rinsed 

1 can 14 oz. corn, drained 

1 package of gluten free taco seasoning (I used Old El paso) 

In your favorite soup pot, cook ground beef and onions. Drain off fat. Add remaining ingredients. Simmer for at least an hour on low heat. Serve with your favorite toppings. We use cheddar cheese, sour cream, green onions, fresh chopped cilantro and corn chips.
One recipe will easily feed six people. I doubled the recipe and fed eleven people and still have plenty of leftovers.  If you like a thicker soup, omit the water.  You won't miss it!
Have a happy Thanksgiving everyone!  

5 Comments

Filed under Fish, Soup

5 responses to “Recipes and a warning….

  1. Kristina

    That’s scary stuff- we really need an industry-wide standard that companies have to meet to label as GF, like they have for organic foods. I didn’t know about Wellshire- no kids, yet, but with one on the way it’s definitely something on my mind! Thanks for the warning.

  2. YUM! YUM! and way YUMMY!!!! Wow! Three recipes in one post! You go girl! And I am definitely making that pumpkin soup!! I have to try it!! I love your pictures as always gal!!

  3. Love the pumpkin soup recipe! I am completely obsessed with pumpkin and can’t get enough of it! Haven’t put pumpkin in soup yet, so your recipe is perfect :)

Leave a Reply

