Menu Monday April 14th

I'm still not feeling quite so perky, but I have planned a menu for this week.  Nothing sounds good.  It's been really hard to plan a menu.  I think it will help to have one.  It will keep me from standing in the kitchen at 5:00 looking clueless.  And hopefully my appetite will come back soon!  If I could just get that cough to go away! 

Pizza 

Taco Salad 

Out to dinner with friends 

Steak, baked potatoes, grilled green beans and onions 

Lamb chops, roasted potatoes, mixed grilled vegetables 

As you can see I am keeping it very simple.  Karen at Gluten Free Sox is hosting this week so be sure to check out all the great menus! 

I have a great recipe to share.  I make this fairly often in the summer.  I made it several weeks ago and meant to post it, but since I haven't been feeling well….you know how that goes!  Matter of fact, I couldn't even remember if I had posted it.  I had to comb through my blog to refresh my memory!
This is another dish of mine I don't measure anything.  This is all made by personal preference. 

Salmon Salad 

Two small cans boneless salmon OR One large can salmon with bones removed.  (You could really use fresh cooked salmon in this as well.  Just chop it up) 
2 cups cooked, cooled brown rice (approximately) 
A couple spoonfuls of mayonnaise according to taste 
chopped onion 
chopped canned black olives 
fresh parsley, chopped 
curry powder 
salt and pepper 

Mix all the above ingredients together.  How much onion or black olives you add is up to you.  Same goes for the curry, salt and pepper.  If you've never used curry before, I would start with maybe a half teaspoon and go from there.
This is similar in nature to making tuna salad or potato salad.  I don't ever measure for those recipes.  I add, I taste.
After you have your salad mixed up, chill it till it's good and cold.  

I like to place a big scoop of salad on a bed of lettuce with whatever vegetables I have around the edge.  It makes a great dinner or lunch and is pretty enough to serve company.  This makes a very hearty meal too, especially if you have some bread to go with it! 
10 Comments

Filed under Fish, Menu Monday

10 responses to “Menu Monday April 14th

  1. ~M

    Feel better! It seems everyone is sick right now.
    This salmon salad looks really good, especially with the radishes and ripe avocado and tomatoes. I really like Whole Foods’ canned red salmon. I bet this recipe would work well with plain non-fat yogurt too.
    Out of curiosity, have you ever tried mashing up the salmon bones and then combining them? The bones have so much calcium in them that I crush them up (they are soft) and incorporate them when I make my salmon patties with almond meal, veggies, eggs, and spices – and I never get that nasty egg shell-like crunch!

  2. Glutigirl

    Hi M! I have tried this with half yogurt and half mayo. It works pretty well too. That’s what’s so great about the recipe. You can fool with it a bit and make it to your own taste.
    I have heard that you can eat salmon bones. But I’ve never tried it. I guess I can’t get over thinking I’m going to taste a bone!

  3. Cassandra

    Ugh! All this sickness needs to just go away.
    Your salad looks fun.
    Feel better soon!

  4. I thought I posted a comment, but I guess I didn’t! I sure hope you get MUCH better really soon Mel! That salmon salad looks delicious!! Where in the world do you get those beautiful avocados? I can never seem to pick out good ones at the store!

  5. I hope you feel better soon. Taco salad sounds really good right now–I think I’ll put that on next week’s menu!

  6. Yum! That salad looks great! Wish I could eat at your house this week! :)

  7. Jj

    Definitely pretty enough to serve company!

  8. Kay

    Hi Melanie,
    I hope you’re finally feeling all healed. I’m sticking to “tried and true” meals for a while.
    Although Charlie (I think) at Nature’s Cupboard muscle-tested me for aluminum-free baking soda and flax seeds. He thinks I’ll be able to eat them. And I’m going to try using ground chia seeds in place of gums, as recommended by Ginger Lemon Girl. So I’m cautiously adventuresome.
    I’ve been building a new blog for my gluten free stories. I wanted to have it all set up before my gardening season started. Some of my gardens started without me! Come visit! I’ve figured out how to post photos! (I rank low on the techo-geek scale.) Your photo of pussy willows really cheered me up when it looked like spring would never come.

  9. This Salmon Salad looks really great! I bet it tastes great too! Thanks for sharing this one … I will add it to my recipes and try it soon. :o)

Leave a Reply

