Healthy Eating And Menu Planning

Before I start my post today, just let me say that it was in the mid 60's today in Indy. I sat on my screened in porch and drank my afternoon coffee in a short sleeved shirt. I've had my back door and my kitchen window open all day. Crazy, but I'll take it! 


Today is the start of our healthy eating program. My husband Steve, was instructed to follow an insulin resistant diet. We are keeping it really simple. I have read two books, The Insulin Resistant Diet and The Schwarzbein Principle. I am combining what I've learned in both books for our plan.
We are counting carbs. With each meal we are allowed 30 grams of carbs but it must be paired with a healthy protein. For snacks we can have 15 grams of carbs as long at it's paired with a healthy protein. We aren't worrying about counting calories or fat. We are trying to eat only healthy fat. 

Of course this includes lots of vegetables.
The goal is to eat healthy whole grain gluten free carbs. So we are cutting out a lot of sugar. That doesn't mean I won't sneak a cookie every now and then for one of the carb snacks! I am on a quest to find a good, healthy, gluten free cookie recipe made with agave syrup. 

We are also exercising which I've been doing for a while anyway. I do cardio about 5 days a week and 3 of those days I also have a toning workout with free weights. Hubby just has to start doing something! Anything! He has a cardio goal of 3 days a week. 

I went to Half Price Books and picked up a couple South Beach Diet cookbooks. They are great! So many of the recipes are already gluten free and of course they are with healthy carbs.
Another goal of mine is to convert my freezer cooking recipes to gluten free. I have been wanting to do this for months, but with the holidays it's just been too busy. I have found very little convenience food that is gluten free. Sometimes I'm just too tired to cook and would love to be able to pull out a tv dinner or something. So I'll have to make my own. 

I would love to be organized enough to make a weekly menu. I'm going to give it a shot. I'm really a cook by the seat of my pants kind of gal when it comes to cooking. I am not very good at planning meals. But last week I did make out a menu for this week and the last two nights have been really great because dinner was there on paper! No standing with the fridge door open hoping something will jump out at me. No walking around the kitchen talking to myself hoping an idea will come. It was there on the paper! So, I'm gonna try to keep up with this. 

Here are my menu's for the week. It's in no particular order or night. You know if you plan the chicken on Monday and maybe you would rather have the fish on Monday. So I just planed 6 meals per week and each night I'll decide which one I'm in the mood for. I'm leaving the seventh night open. I have to have at least one night to fly by the seat of my pants in the kitchen!

 Balsamic Glazed Salmon
Brown rice
Frozen veggies 
Mahi Mahi with Parmesan Caesar Glaze
Brown rice with almonds and onions
Stir fried broccoli and carrots 
Chinese style steamed chicken
Brown rice
Veggies 
Grilled chicken with garlic and olives
Baked potatoes
Green beans 
Baked Pesto Chicken Roasted sweet potatoes and onions
Salad 
Pork Satay
Brown rice
Asian slaw 


Mahi Mahi with Parmesan Caesar Glaze


I love this recipe. I've made it about three times now. It came from a magazine I just discover called
Fresh. It's by the makers of Fine Cooking. You can make this with any kind of white fish. The original recipe calls for flounder, but I have made it with both talapia and mahi mahi. I think it would be just as good with chicken too! The recipe calls for grated lemon and lemon juice. I have made it with lime twice now and I prefer it to the lemon, but tonight I used lemon. The original recipe calls for rolling the fish, but I just lay it flat and broil it. 

8 skinless white fish fillets 
1/3 cup mayonnaise (not miracle whip!) 
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese grated 
1 1/2 tablespoon grated lemon zest 
1 tablespoon lemon juice 
1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce 
1 small clove garlic crushed 
2 tablespoon of chopped parsley or cilantro 

In your oven, broil the fish several minutes on each side according to what type of fish you use and the thickness of that fish. While it's broiling, mix together the remaining ingredients. When your fish is finished cooking, take it out and spread the top of each fillet with the Caesar glaze. Place your fish back in the oven and broil until the glaze is browned and bubbling. Keep a close eye on it as it only takes a couple minutes to achieve this. Plate this on a bed of rice and sprinkle with fresh parsley.
And just so you'll know, I'm craving chocolate something fierce right now!
15 Comments

Filed under Fish, Menu Monday

15 responses to “Healthy Eating And Menu Planning

  1. Carrie

    This is VERY similar to my baked parmesan flounder recipe (see it in the main dish section!) I LOVE that recipe!!! I had it for the first time at Cafe Atlantic, a restaurant on Ocracoke Island NC. It’s one of my favorites! I agree about the menu thing, we don’t always eat what we’ve planned for the night we’ve planned it! I just know I have stuff for 5 or 6 meals and lunches with leftovers and I’m a happy camper!!

  2. Gluti Girl

    I just went and looked and wow! Hot sauce and butter. That sounds fabulous! I wil definately have to try that one. It’s so similar but with a kick! The mayo and parm is what makes it so good. Everytime I make Steve goes on and on about how good it is while he eats it. I know he would love your recipe too because he loves anything with hot sauce. I’ve made your skillet dinner twice now with the hot sauce. We love it!

  3. Cassandra

    That looks really good. One of these days, I will plan a menu. I hate saying “what should we have for dinner tonight?” I have guests coming over in 5 hours and still haven’t decided what to make. That just means I have to browse blogs, right?

  4. Shirley

    The menu mailers at http://www.savingdinner.com are really great and very inexpensive for a several month subscription. The low carb/body clutter one has naturally GF recipes or ones that can easily be made GF with a small substitution. I like them because the meals are planned out for you and even give you a shopping list for the week. You order them for 2 or 4 and you still get some leftovers, which is nice. I subscribed for several months and now just cycle through the ones from before. They have sample menus you can check out.

  5. Gluti Girl

    Shirley, it’s looks interesting. Thanks for the information!

  6. Ginger Carter Miller, Ph.D.

    I am so not organized, but I have heard counting carbs is a good thing. I’ve got an RD friend who suggested The Dash diet, which is very effective. Alas, I’ve been too sick to eat more than apple juice and bananas for two days. When you look at your carbs, may I also suggest you look at the GI index of the carbs? That is good for people like me (Type II diabetes) and Steve (insulin resistant).Still loving your Zoe?

  7. Lea Ray

    That fish looks wonderful. I think you just planned my Sunday dinner for me. My husband and I work different shifts so I usually only cook one real good meal a week and I have been craving fish. I am putting this on my grocery list. Thanks.

  8. Gluti Girl

    Ginger, hope you feel better. My daughter has been sick too. Yes, I love my Zoe! I made some Breads from Anna in it a couple days ago. It was so wonderful to set it up, go run some errands and come home to a fresh bread smell in the house. With four of us, we’ve been going through a loaf about every 3 days so I’ve not even frozen any of it yet!Lea Ray, you will love the fish. It would make a great Sunday or company meal and it’s just so easy. It kind of has that comfort effect too that we need in the winter!

  9. CresceNet

    Hello. This post is likeable, and your blog is very interesting, congratulations :-). I will add in my blogroll =). If possible gives a last there on my site, it is about the CresceNet, I hope you enjoy. The address is http://www.provedorcrescenet.com . A hug.

  10. hollygee

    Hi. I’m a new visitor here. I’ve been self diagnosed for almost 10 years.The Ginger Lemon Girl has stated a goal posting many gf sugar free recipes and menus this year. Here is a link for the first: http://gingerlemongirl.blogspot.com/2008/01/2008-sugar-free-january-guide.html

  11. Gluti Girl

    Hollygee, yes I love that Ginger Lemon Girl and visit her site regularly! We have eaten many recipes from her blog, it’s great!

  12. Natalie

    The menu looks beautiful. You have given me some great ideas. Natalie

  13. kbabe1968

    All I can say is Yum. Looks good! I love fish! One of my resolutions this year is to eat more of it! :D Looks like one I will try!

Leave a Reply

