Cookies round 1

The other thing I did over the weekend was to start making Christmas cookies. Round 1 went pretty well. I started with two cookies I wasn't thinking about making, but were requested by the young Gluti Girl, my daughter Kati.
Her favorite Christmas treat is Gooey Bars. The original recipe calls for a vanilla cake mix. I didn't have any gluten free cake mixes on hand but did have a Gluten Free Pantry muffin mix. So I used that and it worked pretty well. 


She had had a bad week and I really wanted to make something special for her. A lady she works with sometimes brings in a bean dip from Sam's club that Kati really likes. She had been so happy to not have to say no when offered something at work. She was just sure it was gluten free. So last Thursday I was at Sam's looking for that bean dip. I found it and when I read the label it contained wheat. She had been breaking out in a rash now and then and I kept telling her to make sure she wasn't getting wheat from somewhere. I guess we figured out where. But now she will have to turn the bean dip down. That's a bummer. 

She went to work while I was baking and came home late. So the next morning when she got up, I got out the gooey bars for her to taste. She didn't say anything for a minute and then got these big alligator tears in her eyes, came over and gave me a hug and a kiss! Let me tell you I do get hugs sometimes but it's rare to get an actual kiss from a teenager! Tasting something she really loves and having it taste normal made her really happy. Made me happy too. 

If you are a mom of a child with celiac or a gluten intolerance you know about this pain of which I speak. I alway tell Kati there is nothing you can't have, it's just we might have to make it ourselves. Don't be afraid to try new things or to convert old favorite recipes. Some may not work out but others will. And when they do, you just might get a kiss!
These are super easy to make, very rich and they are gooey!

Gooey Bars
Crust:  

1 box gluten free yellow cake mix (I used Gluten Free Pantry muffin mix) 
1 stick butter melted 
1 egg 

Mix the cake mix, butter and the one egg together and press on bottom of a greased 13×9" pan. Set aside till you mix topping. 

Topping: 

8 oz. cream cheese, softened 
2 eggs 
1 tsp. vanilla 
4 cups powdered sugar 

Beat cream cheese, eggs, vanilla and powdered sugar for 5 minutes and pour on top of crust. Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes, let cool and store in refrigerator. Sprinkle with powdered sugar before serving if desired.

Magic cookie bars 

The original recipe calls for graham crackers. I have not been able to find any that are gluten free, but I did find Health Valley Rice Bran crackers and they are very similar in taste and smell to graham crackers. They are very hard though. I pulverized them in my food processor and it took a while to make crumbs out of them because they are very hard! You really could use any cookie for this as well.
This is a fun recipe to make with small children. My kids used to love sprinkling the crumbs and all the toppings. You could also make this with different toppings. So use your imagination and have fun!

1/2 cup butter 
1 1/2 cup gluten free graham cracker crumbs (I used Health Valley Rice Bran crackers) 
1 14 oz. can Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk 
1 6 oz package of semi-sweet chocolate chips 
1 3 1/2 oz. can flaked coconut 
1 cup chopped nuts 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In 13×9" baking pan melt butter. Sprinkle crumbs over butter. Press in pan to form a crust. Pour condensed milk evenly over crumb crust. Top evenly with remaining ingredients. Press down gently. Bake 25-30 minutes until light brown. Cool completely before cutting. Store at room temperature.
Today I made Pecan Tassies and they turned out really well. You'll have to check back tomorrow!
8 Comments

Filed under Cookies

8 responses to “Cookies round 1

  1. Carrie

    LOOK AT YOU!!! Girl, you go with your bad self and all those awesome looking cookies! I AM impressed! I will have to try some of these!!!

  2. Gluti Girl

    Thanks Carrie! I did feel very special for impressing her. I knew it was one of the “moments” when I got the kiss! I guess food is the way to ones heart :)

  3. Cassandra

    Oooh, those gooey bars look so good. And, I have a box of GFP muffin mix from Wal-Mart. Score!

  4. Gluti Girl

    Cassandra, that’s where I bought mine at! I love the brownie mix too. They are so good I can’t see any reason to make homemade brownies!

  5. Lea Ray

    The Gooey Bars look wonderful. I was just saying last week that I wanted to adapt Paula Dean’s recipe for her pumpkin gooey bars but I wasn’t sure it would work. Now I know they will. ThanksI buy Graham Cracker crumbs from Kinnikinnick. You can get them through glutenfree.com. You can’t tell the difference from the real ones. I try to keep them on hand all the time. You never know when you might want a pie with graham cracker crust.

  6. Sheltie Girl

    You did a wonderful job on your bars. I know your daughter was so thankful you spent the time to bake for her. I know how I feel when we go to things for my daughter and she can’t eat anything at a party. I always take things for her to eat, but still it would be nice if our culinary culture wasn’t so wrapped up around wheat.Sheltie Girl @ Gluten A Go Go

  7. Gluti Girl

    Lea ray, I will have to check that out. My daughter was asking me not to long ago if there were gluten free graham crackers and I have never seen them locally. Thanks!Sheltie Girl, I know what you mean about the culture so wrapped up around wheat. It’s so hard for her to always be turning things down.

  8. mrs.naramor

    These look beautiful! I would also love to see your recipe for orange spritz cookies. My vote is that you convert them to be gluten-free!

Leave a Reply

